Starting life without a dryer

Zhexin Feng
Living with 4kWh a day
2 min readSep 30, 2022
  • 24th Sep, Saturday

There is a washing machine and a dryer in the area where I live.

The frequency of use of the two machines prior to classes was

- Washing machine: 3 times a week

- Clothes dryer: 2 times a week

After I learnt that the washing machine was about 300W but the dryer was up to about 2000W and the dryer was used for 2–3 hours each time !!!

Therefore, I started to use the washing machine less frequently and refused to use the dryer.

Step 1

I started using the clothesline.

It consists of two parts: on one side I put clothes that are easy to wash by hand, including underwear, panties and socks; on the other side I put clothes that need to be washed in the washing machine.

In this way, I was able to concentrate on using the washing machine only once a week on a weekend day.

Step 2

Use a drying rack. During the day, dry your clothes on the balcony using the drying rack.

Benefits of drying on a drying rack instead of a dryer.

- Saves electricity

- The sun can sterilize our clothes

- Clothes are flat

I also recommend that other people in the house join me in using the drying rack to dry their clothes. Even when the weather is bad, the drying rack can be placed in the hallway.

So, it is possible to “No dryer”.

--

--