Taking shower at the gym and cutting hair can help you to waste less

Federica Formicola
Living with 4kWh a day
2 min readSep 26, 2022

When we were asked to try to consume and waste less, one of the first things that came to mind was the waste of water when we usually take the shower (even if I am quite quick doing it), but above all the use of the hairdryer to dry my hair after the shower. Having curly and long hair, I have always been used to drying them well until the last strand, and I admit that I also use it for 15/20 minutes.
Since I often go to the gym, from the first day that we were assigned the task, I started showering after training in the dressing room of the gym instead of doing it at home. From this simple gesture I realized that it takes much less time to take the shower in the gym showers than at home, wasting much less hot water and time(in my opinion this happens because I am not in the comfort of my house, so I tend to wash faster).

showers in my gym

Also, since it is not too cold yet, I do not dry my hair, because it dries on the way from the gym to home, which lasts above 10 minutes. In this way I am not using the hairdryer!

This also resulted in me spending less time in the shower even when I am at home, because now I know that I can wash myself in less time.

PS: a little tip that can help you waste less is to cut your hair !!
Last week I cut my hair very short (at least 25 cm shorter than before). Obviously I didn’t cut them for the task; I did it for personal pleasure, but thanks to this the hair dries faster!

Even the hairdryer would be used for less time, as the amount of hair to be dried is very small, in fact in these ten days I only used the hair dryer once for only 5 minutes. (Thinking about it, actually, guys often don’t use the hairdryer because they have very short hair).

--

--