The big picture

Lorenzo Longieri
Living with 4kWh a day
2 min readSep 26, 2022

Yes, i know, you are waiting for the data regarding the consumption cuts after my interventions to manage the appliances attached to the power, but I decided to leave some more suspense to tell you about the overall results, along with the results from the other rooms in the house.

So as promised I “came out of the cave” to explore the house as a whole.
I then mapped all the electrical appliances present, dividing them between appliances and light sources (lamps). I thus created (and later posted on padlet) my energy map. I comment on the results below:

At first, I created a floor plan of my house and highlighted all the points corresponding to an electrical appliance, noting that there are specific points (kitchen corner, living room cabinet, desk in my bedroom) where most are concentrated.

As I told you last time, it is difficult to figure out one’s consumption when sharing space with other people, so the second step was to highlight for a typical day, the percentage of time I stay in a particular room and which ones I don’t frequent at all. This way I reduced the number of rooms to focus on.
Of the remaining rooms (my room, bathroom1, living room and kitchen) I selected, of the previously highlighted electrical appliances, only those that I usually use.
Here I was able to calculate my daily consumption more accurately.

Let’s come to the numbers:
Although I spend only two/three hours of my day at home in the kitchen, this is where most of the consumption is concentrated (3.9kWh).
In second place we find my room, with 2.7kWh of consumption (curious because this is where most of the appliances in the house I use are concentrated)
In third place is the bathroom, with 0.3kWh
In fourth place is the living room, with only 0.005kWh of consumption. This is because the living room for me is only a transition place between my bedroom and the kitchen. I rarely stay there to watch TV, so I did not count it in my typical daily consumption.

At the next posting perhaps you will find out how I managed to reduce my consumption by half.

--

--