The elevator is just an habit

Veronica Tappi
Living with 4kWh a day
1 min readSep 29, 2022

My first house in Milan did not have an elevator and was far from the city center, so when I moved between the elevator and proximity to the center I chose an house close to the city center! By now with the experience of two years, I had gotten used to carrying groceries and suitcases up the stairs.

This year, however, I had to move again, and when it came time to choose I had no doubts: this year I wanted a house with an elevator!

So, since I moved in, I have always used it, unaware of the energy consumption involved. When this challenge started I analyzed all the consumption inside the house, then I wondered how much it consumed to use the elevator and I remembered that for two years I did not have it and I did the stairs, in fact, I considered it a “training” moment. So for these days, I decided not to use it! (It was not easy chose the stairs when arriving home tired after a rainy day).

--

--