Lorenzo Giampietri
Living with 4kWh a day
2 min readSep 24, 2022

--

Together is more

After focusing on lightning efficiency at home, I tried to cut my energy consumption more and more, preparing myself for the (almost) 0kwh in a day challenge (spoiler).

When analyzing the energy consumption at home, I noticed one thing in particular: we tend to use a lot of devices at the same time. Especially during nighttime, my brothers and I tend to stay in our bedroom watching some movies using an Xbox One connected to and old TV as a media hub for Netflix etc., while my parents stay in the main living area watching TV. Stopping watching movies on my own means cutting the energy consumption of the second Tv and Xbox One and, at the same time, spend more time with family. More in general, choosing to do something together instead of on our own means choosing to consume less energy.

In alternative, reading a book instead of watching movies not only cut energy consumption but is a healthier and useful habit to have in a daily routine.

Foto di cottonbro

Another goal for my energy consumption challenge is to use less hot water, as it is one of the most energy consuming practice (around 1,5/1,7kWha day) we tend to over-use and try to limit the use of consuming devices related to personal hygiene. During summertime, I enjoy having cold showers and forgetting the hair dryer but, as autumn approaches, it takes me no time to come back to hot and long showers. For this challenge, I tried to extend my summertime habit, trying to take quite cold and consequentially, shorter showers in the hottest hours of the day when possible.

Classic cold shower feeling. Photo by Tim Wilson on Unsplash

--

--