Two weeks reduction of energy consumption challenge

Angelica Rodriguez
Living with 4kWh a day
2 min readSep 17, 2022

Living with just 4KW of electricity is a big challenge, especially when you realize that most of the appliances you have at home work with electricity, and most of them are “necessary” for living; like the fridge, that uses electricity 24/7, which I believe is the one that most consumes energy, but also is necessary for simple activities, such as washing the cloth, or charging the computer, even taking a shower.

I am going to try to reduce as much as possible my energy consumption, with simple changes in my routine.

I started to make some calculations, and my starting action plan is the following:

  • I am going to start charging my phone and my computer somewhere else (on campus, in a café, or a library).
  • I will try to reduce the time with the lights on
  • Give up using the oven and the microwave for cooking, as well as the fan extractor.
  • Give up using the lamp on my desk
  • And give up of the fan during this days

Day 1 — Sep 14th

I started to charge my phone on campus, and is perfect, while I am attending classes, the phone charges and when I leave I have 100% of the charge until the next day. I also realized that I need to reduce the time I spend on my phone, this way the battery can last longer, almost 2 days.

Still don’t know how I am goint to do it on the weekends, but I will figure it out.

Day 2- Sep 15th

Hot day, and of course hot night, I try to keep the window open but the mosquitos were everywhere, so my fast solution was to make a hand fan with paper.

--

--