Two weeks reduction of energy consumption challenge. Part 2

Share and find alternatives

Angelica Rodriguez
Living with 4kWh a day
3 min readSep 21, 2022

--

I started to search for alternatives, reading blogs and watching videos about how other people save energy, and also how people in other contexts do the basics, like cooking or having some light at night, like when they go camping.
Being handy, creative, and creating community is some key important aspects I realize are necessary to reduce my energy consumption, this is why these past days I kept charging my phone and my computer in other places instead of my home, and putting on practice camping hacks, and sharing experiences and meet with other to work in just one place.

Day 8 — Sep 21st

I’ve decided to wash my clothes once a week and not to use the washing machine, it is hard for me because I am not used to washing them by hand, but I hope I can do my best. The thing is, that washing by hand takes a lot of time, depending on the volume of clothes you have to wash, and I have to wait until the weekend to do it, or during the days we don´t have classes. I started to wash one part on Tuesday, just the white clothing, it took me like an hour to have the cloth done. On weekend I will do the rest. One more thing, after washing the clothes my hands were dry, next time I have to use gloves or cream after washing, and do my nails after. Also, I don’t have a place to do it, so I had to wash them in the bathroom sink.

On the other hand, to reduce the time I spend with the light of my bedroom on, I started to use my phone lamp at night, but watching some videos of people going camping, they tend to use bottles full of water to disperse the light and make it look like a bulb, so I try, it and I think it works, I can organize my room, and also work with that light, the only bad thing is that I am depending 100% from my phone, so, if it’s running out or battery I wouldn’t be able to do it.

And finaly, with some gyus from the class, we decided to meet on a Satrbucks, and work the whole day day, this ways we all could charge our devices thare, have internet all the time, help us each other with the asigments and not using the energy from out homes.

--

--