#UmpluggedDiet Chapter 2: Cooking for more meals

Vittoria Castiglioni
Living with 4kWh a day
1 min readSep 28, 2022

For the project, I’d like to start a journey through a changing of my diet. I observed that, using mainly electric houshold for cooking (such as an electric plate instead of the gas stove), and multiplying consumption for a long duration of daily use, what we eat greatly affects energy consumption in the home.

Chapter 2: cooking for more meals

Since, with the absence of red meat, my diet required other forms of protein, and since these forms (legumes, certain types of iron-containing vegetables) cannot be taken raw, i still needed to cook my meals.

Although I had thought of limiting myself to raw food, I realized that for my health it would not be the best choice.

So why not optimize cooking time by cooking food for multiple meals?

Of course, I could not involve my family in the experiment, but, especially during workdays, I could cook in the evening for both dinner and lunch the next day, to take away.
Obviously, time at the stove was almost halved, and in this way I also halved energy consumption (having to cook on an induction plate).

--

--