Poetry

LOST

Gale Davis
Living With Purpose
1 min readMay 30, 2024

--

by Gale Davis

A lone boat drifts off into a foggy sea.
Image Source: Dall-E 3

I don’t know you anymore.

You hardly resemble the person you once were. Somehow, somewhere

you disappeared over time. It wasn’t always that way. I remember when you were the center of my world and I yours. We didn’t believe there would be an end.

Yesterday’s gone. Tomorrow is fading. I don’t know what to do.

I find myself telling you about my day and waiting for some connection. We used to share everything. Now, a gaping hole swallows my every word.

Photographs scatter the table. I point to them like a teacher desperate for a reply. Your eyes stare at my finger as if the pictures are not there.

Yesterday’s gone. Today is fading. I don’t know what to do.

The clock on the wall ticks loudly. It is time. I can see it in your eyes.

Those memorable eyes so full of life are dim. The heaviness of pain has conquered your vibrant spirit. I feel your sorrow. I am overwhelmed as you turn away from me. It is over.

Yesterday’s gone. Today is no more. You are free.

--

--