NAMSE — HALF MAN, HALF AMAZING.

Liza Chuma Akunyili
6 min readAug 1, 2020

--

Today, we’re privileged to be speaking with Udosen Namse — a man who is crazy about children and education. What’s most fascinating for me about Namse, is finding a man who’s a proud nurturer in an environment where this is relegated. Thank you so much for sharing with us, Sire. Shall we?

LIZA EXPRESS CONSULT

Tell us about yourself?

I am a teacher, a scholar and an enthusiast of educational development. I love reading and hanging out with kids. I have lived in many cities across Nigeria and I carry my experiences in my heart. I have a desire to be a major player in the revolution of education in Nigeria. My researches span across non-formal education, human relations theory, school plant management, school mapping and innovation in curriculum development.

I am currently working on a project called Tanar Bookathon, the project is a quest to make books available for children in marginalized communities. Children who can never afford to own a personal book. I am training young writers in collaboration with friends to make books for children. We hope to make the books free online for downloading and also print versions.

How did you start answering the name half man; half amazing

Those were gotten from Nas’ song ‘Nas is like’. I am a big Nas fan and those lines reflected the persona I was creating for myself. The tag is quite deep only a few people get it. It’s something you just know without really being able to explain it.

What would you call your greatest achievement?

My greatest achievement so far is getting two books published with a lean teacher’s pay. I didn’t believe I would execute them so fast. It was a very difficult task, however, I became a personal manifestation of the saying “where there is a will there is a way.”

Have you ever failed at something, what was it?

I am a perpetual failure. Religious people in Nigeria would frown when you say you failed at something, however, it is a reality of human existence. I failed WAEC which made me sit up when writing GCE. I failed at many courses in the university. I fail in my friendships and family relations. However, every failure is a lesson learnt.

Wow! tell us about these academic failures and how you made your professional turn.

I didn’t pass Maths and English but had five (5) credits and that was considered a failure by my father and most of the society. I, however, picked up during GCE and made seven (7) credits but still failed Math. I applied for Agric-Econs and got admitted without a credit in maths because I had six credits. My dad had harassed me over the years on how I can’t be successful in life without maths. I am happy I have proved him wrong. I have gone on to be enrolled for my PhD without O level mathematics.

When I got admitted to the university. I was not prepared for what I met, however. I was admitted to the university to study agricultural extension. I thought I was going to be doing things about agriculture and economics only to start offering science, chemistry, physics, mathematics all over again in my 100 level. It was a bit overwhelming. I was also overwhelmed by the silly bureaucracy in the university system. So, I relented a bit and I had no idea this would have an impact on my studies. I was told to drop out a point but then I swapped faculty to the Faculty of Education — that was the turn around in my studies.

O wow! That’s how you became a teacher

Yes! I am an accidental teacher who found passion for the job. Sometimes I think my life would have been much better if I wasn’t a low teacher.

Do you feel bad about being a teacher? you mentioned “low teacher”

Yes. Recent happenings have made me feel bad. Parents and especially private school administrators are very condescending when interacting with teachers.

Even when I attended a Teacher Reality TV show that was supposed to uplift the status of teachers, the disrespectful tone was part of the whole show. It’s like society doesn’t expect much from teachers.

That is painful. before this spoils the thrill of your passion, let’s get into some of your greatest moments as an educator

The greatest moments of my life are when you start with ‘tabular Rasa’ in September and by July, the slates are filled. It gives me joy when pupils make visible improvements in their learning. Every moment I teach a concept and the pupils eyes light up in understanding and comprehension.

Another great moment is when I was named a Literacy Ambassador for the World Literacy Organisation. I am also happy when there is a discussion on education and I am recommended to speak.

Every time I write an article on education and someone says “the article has changed my life.”

Wow! I can only imagine your joy. On your journey, how have your relationships helped?

Every relationship is important in the journey of life. My relationship with my family gave me the foundational block to build on. Over my decades of schooling, I have made friends who have helped me achieve many life goals. Most notably are my EX Navy Boys. Our relationship is a closely-knit brotherhood that has helped my journey in diverse ways. In fact, they have contributed to making most of my travels more comfortable.

I also have very important relationships with the writing community and Writers Space Africa stands out in that community. They have played a major role in developing my writing craft.

My family is a relationship I won’t joke with. They have been an amazing support system.

It’s really great having all that support. Tell me about your books (self-publishing, challenges, book sales, and distribution)

My first book, “Fundamental Etiquette for Young Nigerians” took me more than five years to put together. I started it out as a small note on my personal observations of bad manners. Then I started reading books on social graces. Then the small pamphlet became a book. I was so scared of the publishing cost. I saved and did the work in bits. First, I had to pay an illustrator. In fact, I worked with about four illustrators before settling on the last two. I got an editor to edit and make the work readable and when the major production began, it wasn’t easy. I remember spending hours and staying late nights to monitor the production.

The distribution has been hectic and stressful. Since the work is self-published, many people tend to undervalue and under price my books. Book shops are more interested in Syllabus books.

That must be really hard to juxtapose with the teaching stress.

Yes, it is. That is why education is still not making the impact it should.

LIZA EXPRESS CONSULT

Give a piece of advice to writers in Africa, parents of artsy children, government towards education and

Writers need to have strategic plans for their career. I remember I used to write all kinds of things but now, I write more children’s literature because as a teacher I have noted the gaps in quality reading materials.

Parents should allow their children to express their creativity. Education is all about the holistic development of a person. As a society, we need to make our education more functional. Education should be solving the problems of society. Unfortunately, education is a show in Nigeria. It has become a status symbol, so the educated are no much different from the uneducated.

What advice do you have for your fellow writers who are waiting for publishing houses to help them

My only advice is to stay true to your craft.

Thank you so much, Namse. This has been really open and vulnerable. I know I admit my failures but this was refreshing. the way you went all out to let us know what you struggled with academically and what you’re still figuring out professionally. I’m not going to put a lid on your story. I’m going to be watching your evolution and celebrating your steps in whatever direction you go in improving the state of education. Cheers!

--

--

Liza Chuma Akunyili

I love how art is embedded in us and how science questions us. I am a student of life and this adventure called life is one I’m set to explore.