Public Storytelling: A Better Way to Be Afraid

Liz Millikin
Liz Millikin’s Portfolio
1 min readFeb 26, 2017

Once upon a time, I shared a story on my personal blog about fear — and the odd way I go about handling it.

An organizer for Ignite Boulder found the story and asked me to share it with the crowd. I obliged, cutting the original piece from 1,463 words to a five minute presentation called “A Better Way to Be Afraid (Or Mars in Retrograde)”.

Recording above. Transcript available here.

Image of Liz Millikin scared out of her mind on stage, care of Boulder Ignite

This was my first public presentation and the first time I have spoken in front on stage, with a microphone, in front of so many people. And the first time I have ever shared a personal story so publicly.

As a naturally private, introverted person, I am grateful for the speakers workshops held before the final Ignite performance. With the group, we worked on content, word choice, tempo, and imagery.

I couldn’t be happier with the final result.

--

--