Blog Post Responses

Photo by Carolyn V on Unsplash

Response to Anna Roccucci’s “Lines & Line Cooks — Walking in on Anthony Bourdain”

Anna Roccucci’s writing is superb, well developed and highly professional. The way she uses syntax is unique and each sentence is carefully crafted, yet no two are the same, which makes for an interesting read. I felt as if I were watching Anthony Bourdain on the screen while reading her piece, which points to Roccucci’s success in the use of the literary technique of descriptive writing. She includes several details to give the reader a full picture of her author, while also including her own viewpoints as a secondary character. Concluding the piece, I feel myself wanting to explore more about Bourdain’s culinary adventures and look forward to Roccucci’s presentation in class. I wouldn’t be surprised to spot her name on the staff members page of a major publication in the future. There isn’t much to critique in this piece, but I would have liked to know why Roccucci chose to feature Bourdain herself and if there was any personal connection to his story that she resonated with. Doing this would have also allowed her to develop more of a presence in her own work.

Response to Sarah Peddicord’s “Blog Post #3 Interview” on Manna Zelealem

I also enjoyed reading Peddicord’s unique take on Manna Zelealem’s story. “My mom told me to take pictures of it before I left in August” Zelealem said with a smile on her face.” The way she described Zelealem’s body language while conducting the interview was a nice personal touch and was a great way to highlight the topics Zelealem enjoyed reflecting on most. In this piece, I learned a lot about Zelealem’s background and how her present-day experience is reflective of her Ethiopian heritage. The writer made this feature literary through description, dialogue and character development, as she journeys us through Zelealem’s career and internship experiences. If I had anything to critique, I would’ve ended with a stronger kicker, or even a quote from Zelealem herself.

--

--