Nora Ephron

Photo from The New York Times

Essayist, humorist, screenwriter, and journalist, Nora Ephron was a witty persona filled with artistic talent. Known for her works “When Harry Met Sally” and “Sleepless in Seattle,” she died at the age of 71 in 2012. And like many authors, she used the personal of her life to produce some of her greatest literature.

Though I did not choose Ephron for my presentation, I find her to quite an interesting personality. Her work is rather witty, and I am fascinated by the way names seem to play an integral role to her story-telling style. Though her film career is also praiseworthy, I tend to be more interested by the written works she has produced.

Like many writers, Ephron appears to be inspired by the trauma in her life, but also by the injustice she has witnessed. In a speech given to Wellesley College, the “New York Times” reports that “Ms. Ephron recalled that women of her generation weren’t expected to do much of anything.” Unbothered by this sentiment, Ephron found herself in many positions of work throughout her life ranging from journalist to movie director.

Thus far, I am planning to look at some of her more recent articles produced prior to her death. While I certainly will be referring to her more well-know works like “Sleepless in Seattle,” I am curious to see how she was writing in the years leading up to her death. Both “My Life as an Heiress,” and “The Girl who Fixed the Umlaut” have a sense of melancholy in them worth exploring, and I wonder how these texts can be useful in writing improvement. Furthermore, I would want to look more into the interviews produced in the current era to see if Ephron had any thoughts on the current state of journalism and writing.

--

--