LMU’s Emily Hubert Talks Personal Passions

Ashley Conley
3 min readDec 14, 2018

--

Emily Hubert is an English major student of Loyola Marymount University graduating in December 2018. The 21-year-old Hacienda Heights, California native found her passion in running where she has finished on the All-State team from 2013–2015 and most recently competed at the NCAA Division I Level at LMU. In her free time, apart from working on The Tower Yearbook, Hubert enjoys being creative and rooting for the Los Angeles Dodgers.

Ashley Conley: What is the biggest thing you have taken away from taking English classes at LMU?

Emily Hubert: This is a funny question because im coming to the point where every career i want to pursue has nothing to do with english. So when i first decided to be an English major i kind of thought it was practical because i would learn critical skills in terms of articulating myself on paper and also being able to prove an argument. Originally, I wanted to go to law school so I thought it would be good for that but now i’m at this point where i’m kind of regretting it in ways. Just because I thought it was going to be a lot more writing and it’s a lot of writing but it’s also reading a lot of old literature which is totally english I should have expected that, but I feel like i haven’t taken away too much knowledge in the sense that i haven’t learned as many tangible things. I’m very confident in my writing now so I’m grateful for that but I don’t necessarily know if i’m going to use that.

AC: What got you to pick up the sport of cross country?

EH: I started running when I was 6-years-old. My mom was a teacher at my elementary school and she coached the elementary school cross country team. Since she’s my mom she couldn’t drop me off after school so I would either have to wait in her classroom after school or join the team, so I joined the team.I didn’t start getting competitive until fourth or fifth grade and that’s when I started to get second or third place in the races. Then I set all the records in my middle school and at the time I was still playing softball and really hated it and my parents said I could quit if I find another sport to play in college because in my family everyone went to college to play sports. So, they said if you aren’t going to play soccer you have to find another sport and since I set all the records at my middle school i was like im good at this i should run. So highschool is when i narrowed it down and I’ve been running ever since then.

AC: What led you in the direction to work with people with mental disabilities?

EH: My aunt is a care provider for men with mental disabilities and she runs it family style instead of it being like a corporation so she really focuses on becoming a family. I grew up going bowling with her and the guys but I didn’t really know them or work with them they were just around. And i didnt think about it until last summer when i was looking for a job and my mom suggested it. I love it the guys are so awesome. They are an underrepresented group in all aspects. People will be like aren’t you scared or whatever, but these guys would not hurt a fly. And maybe she just got really lucky, but I go in public with them and get dirty looks but that’s what drives my passion. They are the sweetest guys in the world.

AC: What is the biggest challenge you face working at the family home?

EH: The biggest challenge when working in those homes are the other staff that works there. The reason is because it is an entry level job so on the surface level you are getting paid just as much as if you were to be working at McDonalds as you do working with these guys but for me personally, it means so much more than that. But for some people, they are just doing it for the money. And I do believe people in this field should be paid more because you’re expected of more.

--

--