Meet the Local Friends

Can from Istanbul

Martijn Frusch
Local Friend

--

This is not just another part in our series about Local Friends as it is the first one from Istanbul. One by one they will introduce themselves coming weeks. We have asked them to tell you a bit about their favourite things to do in their city. If you want to hear more, just come to Istanbul and explore this exotic city with the personal advice of a Local Friend.

How long have you been living in Istanbul and why did you move to this city?

I was born in Istanbul. But if I would have been raised in another city in Turkey, I would have moved to Istanbul as soon as I was allowed.

What do you do for the living?

After graduating from university, I have been working for a bank for a couple of years. As my true love is not banking but playing music I was looking for a way to earn money with that. Nowadays, I am a professional drummer.

Where in Istanbul do you live and why should travellers pay your area a visit?

I live on the Anatolian/Asian side, which is more peaceful than the European side. Come here to see the other part of Istanbul culture.

What does your favourite Istanbul weekend look like?

On my dream weekend I would like to start with eating a well prepared breakfast outside near the Bosphorus on Saturday morning. In the afternoon, I would soak up some culture in a theatre or at a Ottoman palace. They are beautiful here in Istanbul. I also love to drink a beer in a nice place, Taksim maybe. I like some calmness and relaxing though, so it should not be too crowdy. If I still feel energetic, I would go to a bar for some decent live music. I prefer a blues or jazz club like the Babylon.

What are the best places to watch local music heroes perform on stage?

If you want to listen to Anatolian music, you will have a hard time finding a venue. There are lots of places where good musicians play different kinds of modern music. Check out Babylon, the Nardis Jazz Club, Shaft Bar or Kadıkoy Sahne and you will have a great night for sure.

Why did you actually want to be a Local Friend?

Because I personally hate following a guide. They always show you ordinary places, while I want to discover different people and places, landscapes. I don’t want to be a typical tourist myself. It’s funny that every tourist goes to Sultanahmet in Istanbul, but many of the citizens of Istanbul have never been there. I want you to experience Istanbul like a local citizen, not like a tourist ☺

--

--

Martijn Frusch
Local Friend

VP growth Snappcar | Founded Cocoon & LocalFriend | People Connector, Travel Addict & Part-time Adventurer | Cyclist