Grief in Confined Spaces

Stories
Lockdown Journal Chennai
2 min readJul 6, 2020

By Aashika Suresh

Grief by Michael Schaffer

I can feel my heart,

like an asteroid moving

through the space

of my chest — the heaviness

travelling from left to centre,

meteorites tumbling

into my shoulders,

thighs, toes.

In the morning, I resist

the news invasion. I go through

the day in definite motions –

slow and measured.

I fill my water bottle, listen

to the ripple in steel

before I take a sip. I pay attention

to how the liquid passes through

my esophagus. When I write a quote

about Grief from Elizabeth Gilbert

in my journal, my fist on the sheet

is a soft wave, moving as if

it’s the first time I am

putting pen to paper.

Deep breaths,

a sudden surge

of emotions –

I let myself

linger…

in time,

there will be

enough room.

to relearn

everything

about what

the living do.

Kitten at Window Sill

Aashika Suresh is a writer, dreamer and sunlight-seeker based in Chennai. She was shortlisted for the 11th Srinivas Rayaprol Poetry Prize (2019). Her feature articles and poetry have been published in various literary journals and magazines.

--

--