The Songs of the Doodle

Stories
Lockdown Journal Chennai
2 min readNov 4, 2020

Images by Anitha Madhivanan and text by Madhumeeta B

Waiting for the Storm to Pass
If I was clear and bright, I would invite the world to see the light

If I was gloomy and pale, I would invite the world to find a cozy spot near the fire.

If I was myself experiencing this wrath of the air called a storm,

I would be trembling, I would be shaken.

It means fear and uncertainty have taken over.

It means I have nowhere to go.

It means I need to allow this storm through me, through the beautiful shapes of my clouds.

It takes time, energy and will, to sit through this storm.

To be calm. To wait.

To find my vastness again.

And there is nothing you can do, because I am the sky.

Mandala | Zentangle Art | Being in a state of Flow

When all hell breaks loose,

The mind desperately seeks an escape,

A moment of calm.

I look for questions, for answers, for clues.

I look for structure, for direction, for certainty.

I look to find hope, motivation, control.

I look for peace.

I look within me.

Evil Eyes | Don’t Put Kannu

The ‘Evil Eye’ is a curse,

One that falls upon someone

Who grows to earn another’s envy.

The blue amulet is believed to ward off

The mystic malevolent curses of the world.

So how many of these are needed now

To ward off the forces acting upon 2020?

Anitha Madhivanan is an HR Consultant and Community Manager by profession, and has begun exploring her artistic side through doodling. Doodling has always been her favourite pastime and is now her go-to activity to keep herself calm during these trying times. https://www.instagram.com/pencil_ponnu

Madhumeetha B is passionate about conversations, coffee and Chennai. She is a theater artist who chooses to write sometimes. She co-hosts a podcast that covers all themes related to body positivity. https://open.spotify.com/show/3KIPKBKawsJvvMSCTd0uiC?si=qO4X56ciSPqmAmUTfwn_Tw

--

--