Lodestar Gazette / Fiction / Drabble

A Taste of the Hard Stuff in Bodie’s Chinatown

The Old Prospector makes a deal

Jerry Dwyer
Lodestar Gazette

--

The random word for the day is freak.
Twist: include a recipe in your story.

An old prospector in the Old West of the 880s carries a shotgun and watches several people smoking long pipes warmed by candles.
AI image generated via Bing Copilot Designer by the author.

Drabbles are works of fiction of exactly 100 words. No more. No less.
Please stay on the page for 30 seconds or more, so the stories are counted as read. Please read, highlight, clap, comment — let us know you’ve been here! Thank you!

He watched them sprawled out, smoking their long pipes. And he observed the complete recipe for smoking opium.

Suddenly, there was a huge commotion just outside.
“Where’s that Chinaman? I’m going to kill him! He killed my brother!”
A freak was freaking out while brandishing a machete.
The Old Prospector grabbed his shotgun and pointed it at the wild man.
Drop your weapon, or I will remove your face!” he growled. “Counting to three. One, two…

The wild man turned around and ran.

“You be my own private copper?” Ah Chung asked. “I pay 5 dollars a day. Deal?”
Deal!”

I still found a recipe on the Internet for opium smoking, even though it is completely illegal nowadays and has been for a long time.

My two drabble series, My Will and Aggie Drabbles and My Old Prospector Drabbles are blending together. The last nine Will and Aggie stories run concurrently with the events in the latest Old Prospector stories. You can find My Old Prospector Drabbles here:

My Old Prospector Drabbles

26 stories
An old man with disheveled hair and beard.
Ruins of Wells Fargo Building, Virginia City, NV.
Thick gray clouds over snowy moutauinous terrain.

Here are My Will and Aggie drabbles:

My Will and Aggie Drabbles

15 stories
A mother with three young children stand before a tombstone in an Old West cemetery.

I still plan to use the random words that are displayed daily over in Fiction Shorts. I also plan to keep on writing my non-serial drabbles in Fiction Shorts. Here is Nancy Oglesby’s prompt for Random Word Day # 194:

Brenda Arledge knows where to find the best view of Niagara Falls in her recent Drabble Drop:

My Tag List for My Drabble Series

Harry Hogg, Michael Rhodes, Randy Pulley, Bruce Coulter, Adrienne Beaumont, Julia A. Keirns, Delaney Patterson, Karen Schwartz, Lynn L. Alexander, Judy Derby, Kelly Corinne Elliott, Paula Shablo, Michele Maize, Brandon Ellrich, Maria Rattray, Jonny Masters, Stephen Dalton, John Hansen, Miriam Connolly, Ludiane de Brocéliande, Nancy S Rust, Nancy Oglesby, CJ Coop, Denée King, Izzibella Beau, Eko B, Mike Range, Diane Foster, Glenn M Stewart and Shain E. Thomas.

Thanks for reading!

--

--

Jerry Dwyer
Lodestar Gazette

I read books and then travel to places I read about. And I bring my camera with me.