LODESTAR GAZETTE| FLASH FICTION | STORY

Beyond Raspberry Fields

It is a tale of nostalgia and new beginnings, where every moment is a step towards rediscovering the sweetness of life’s journey.

CJ Coop
Lodestar Gazette
Published in
4 min readJan 15, 2024

--

Non-Medium members can read this freely here!

Beyond Raspberry Fields
Beyond Raspberry Fields by C.J.Coop | Created with Midjourney

Thirty seconds is all it takes to make me happy. Stay with me, scroll to the end, and let’s share this moment. Don’t forget to clap, highlight, and comment.

“Raspberry jam tastes like regret, don’t you think?” murmured Alfie, his voice a blend of nostalgia and whimsy, eyes gazing into a distance I couldn’t see.

I chuckled, leaning back against the old oak in our shared garden, letting the warmth of the sun and the absurdity of his statement wash over me. “How so, Alfie? Since when does jam have emotions?”

He grinned, the corners of his eyes crinkling in delight. “Since forever, my dear. It’s like life, sweet and sticky, but sometimes, it leaves a sour aftertaste.”

I pondered his words, watching the dance of the dappled light through the leaves. Alfie was like that — a philosopher disguised as a gardener, his thoughts a labyrinth of the whimsical and profound.

--

--

CJ Coop
Lodestar Gazette

| Poet | Storyteller | British | Lodestar Gazette Owner |