Time to RING the Bell!

Let it resonate for peace.

Comfort-in-mismatch
Logically Sound!
3 min readSep 12, 2020

--

I was really small when I first entered the religious space of a Hindu temple.

Amused, I started running around, not knowing it was not a playground. I did get some stares.

Jumping about, I constantly kept hearing a sound. I looked around me and no one seemed to be playing music. What was I hearing then?

Well, I was small and short, so my visual reach was limited. Until I looked a little higher. (Oops! a spiritual pun?)

Looking up I discovered a weird lamp kinda thing hanging from the ceiling, swaying around every time someone hit it, making the most soothing sound I ever heard.

That moment my mom picked me and helped me reach up to the bell. I felt a moment of pure joy. The sound instantly became my most favourite thing in the world.

As I am obsessed with bringing the simpler things to light, with this blog I pick the reason why the sound of bells is so important and not limited to just religious places.

The science of the sound!

Let’s get logically sound.

Mandir ghantas, Church bells, wind chimes, even Santa Clause likes to carry a bell with him.

Bells are equated with the elements of air and water because of their babbling waves of sound. This peaceful sound is believed to detach the mind from the tsunami of ongoing thoughts, making it more amenable.

Bells ringing during prayer is said to assist in controlling the ever-wandering mind and focusing on the deity. It acts as an antidote to our frivolous mind.

This isn’t limited to religious places. A cup of coffee in your little balcony with the melodious sound of the wind chimes creates a feeling of bliss, divinity, comfort and positivity.

Stop to think, why?

The unheard scientific importance behind the heard sound of a bell…

Every bell is designed to give rise to a unique sound that coincides with the left and the right brain. When a bell or chime is rung, the sound produced lasts at the minimum for seven consecutive seconds, stirring the seven chakras of the human body.

As a result, you find harmony between the left and right lobes of the brain, bringing you to a state of calmness. The aura spreads purity, removes negative forces and open doors to wellbeing.

It is custom-built with numerous metals and alloys with accurate scientific calculations to bring forth the best experience.

Traditionally, the intention to ring a bell before worship was to demolish the demonic forces within one’s soul.

Who knew there was more to it in reality.

As rightly said by Alfred North Whitehead, “A science that hesitates to forget its founders is lost.” We should thank our traditions, they can’t go wrong at any cost.

May the Bells be with you! 🔔

--

--

Comfort-in-mismatch
Logically Sound!

A simple gal from a not so simple city, enjoying every bit of this mis-match. Here to bring my world of words to you!