Experiment: designers draw «happiness»

Roman Lemov
Logomachine
Published in
4 min readJun 27, 2017

We asked designers from Serbia, USA, UK, India, Philippines, Canada, Italy, Nigeria and Russia to draw «happiness»

Me and my team from our design studio were curious: how do you draw «happiness»? We decided to make an experiment to find out, how designers from other countries would complete this task?

The task was simple: «draw happiness as you see it in your own unique style». No limitations. The result is presented for you below!

Italy

https://dribbble.com/manuel-corsi-manu

«The real happiness? Comes from the imagination, the carefree and the adventure spirit that we had when we were a child.
When we share these moments with our inseparable friend, When we just need a ball to have fun, when everything is a adventure.
This logo wants to accompany you in your childhood memories, where everything was more magical and fun»

UK

«This is the sign of happiness according to the Chinese culture»

Philippines

https://dribbble.com/designMNL

My version of happiness is not all about the smile, but sometimes people do crazy things because you are happy. You want to express it through actions, doing impossible moves and you want people to see that you are happy. I created an ambigram style to depict that people do crazy things out of the blue. Sometimes they do jump, sometimes they turn upside down. Because they are happy, so they can influence other people to their actions. Overjoyed!

Serbia

https://dribbble.com/Zixi

For me personally happiness is in small everyday things. In this time of year happiness could be just nice warm day. So based on all of that I’ve designed simple and happy smiling sun to represent happiness.

India

https://dribbble.com/SHREYAS_BENDRE

I started thinking about happiness and there are few things which comes to mind like childhood my family and love for everyone these things are very closest to me.

After sketching decided to develop the “girl and dog” one….

Happiness is that unconditional love you receive from your best friend. Happiness is the unspoken bond of friendship which speaks through those innocent eyes and gestures when you are low, giving you cuddles of comfort. If you hurt them, you know all they’ll give you in return is love. Those little tricks and our playtime is happiness. The wagging tail is happiness. Whether you are away for a day or a year, the joy of seeing each other is always the same. But no matter what, my dog will always be happier than me for having me in her life, and her happiness is unexplainable! :)

Canada

https://www.behance.net/lars_maste8051

This logo is a representation of my wife’s face on our wedding day. To me my wife is the most beautiful woman in the history of the world and She gives me nothing but happiness.
Seeing her gives me more joy than anything so when I think of happiness, her face is the first thing to come to my mind.
I hope this is what you were looking for, for this project.

USA

https://dribbble.com/adrianbrand

it’s a kind smile. I think it represents perfectly the feeling.

Russia

Because happiness = family

UK

https://www.behance.net/nickbudrewicz

«For me, nothing says happiness like your favourite food and mine is pizza. You just can’t beat a fresh slice of your favourite pizza. It’s guaranteed to put a smile on your face!»

Nigeria

There’s no happiness in Nigeria... To be sincere…

Red/cream color is all about harmony and happiness. While the black is to represent our color (blacks)…

If you liked the experiment — don’t forget to smash that “LIKE” button, leave a comment and subscribe! We are planning to make content like this in the future.

We are Logomachine design studio. If you need any kind of design help or advice — feel free to contact us!

Website: logomachine.net
Email: logo@logomachine.net
Facebook: logomachine

--

--