I Sink like Ships

Nicholas Osla
Logos Word

--

Hands tremble before another pit,

Starting to feel a dense cloud fit.

Stress rises as I sink like a ship,

Seemingly calm, lower I dip.

Deeper the small ship sinks,

Tiny men inside begin to drink.

One little madman cries in vain,

“Little ships will sail again!”

Perhaps this time I’ll remain sane,

As my little ship begins to wane.

I’m inside where many men dread,

Yet one by one they’re all sinking dead.

Painfully, Icarus’ star falls,

Towards his final slippery maul.

The constant sway of the cuckoo's clock,

Stores comfort like a warm steely sock.

Ships sink peacefully as I do

But on the inside, it’s a sad adieu

Inside, a strangled voice screams,

Crippled fingers, clawing blue beams.

I sink as ships, dead and becalmed,

Be ready friends to embalm.

Blistering blue sea is all I perceive,

Lord, let her not falsely deceive.

I sink as ships, quietly aghast

Once again, my own iconoclast.

Time withered, the spears pierce,

Yet again I’m no longer fierce.

Word by word, all so lame

O how I miss her Christian name.

Sink, lower, sink, little friend sink,

You may find you’re gone in a blink.

In this world, I am lost

My heart to jack frost.

Careful what you say to her

My eyes do begin to blur.

Mountains tall, their depths deeper

Prepare to meet your death reaper.

Forest dense, desert drier,

Are you ready for the pyre?

--

--

Nicholas Osla
Logos Word

Tall short, long small. That is me in a cohort…