LOL: Issue #25

Arihant Verma
LOL: Weekly List Of Lit
2 min readAug 19, 2017
  1. My guide to Islamophobia went viral because I’m not Muslim by Marie-Shirine Yener

2. On My Way to the Novel, I Fell in Love with the Short Story by Junot Diaz

3. Cutting It Fine by Quinn

Quinn writes something bold 💛

4. Banquet Speech by Albert Camus

I recently read Albert Camus’ The First Man. I’m reading it again because I want to write an essay on it, which is asked by nobody. Such was his stellar storytelling skills. Here’s the speech that he gave at Nobel Prize ceremony in 1957, for the honour awarded to him in Literature.

5. Excerpt from A Glimpse of Daws by Tom Lund

Special Feature:

Last week I stumbled upon bitcoin and block chaining. There were two reasons I did — A relative had asked me if I was interested in doing a project on cryptocurrencies, and the second was that, I’d been working on a project to build an alumni network for my college (which would cost database and server costs). When I found out that with block chaining technology, it was possible to massively cut those database costs (which I’m not fully sure how it works, still researching things out), I was smitten. Here are two ted talks that talk about the economic changes that these technologies could bring. I know it’s not literature or conventional art, but it’s possibilities are MASSIVE. For example it would help artists to earn for themselves without record companies, huge royalty cuts for novelists going through traditional publishing route, and so on and so forth, cutting the middlemen.

--

--

Arihant Verma
LOL: Weekly List Of Lit

I write poetry and short fiction. I meditate, code, dance, sing, play 🏀, clean stuff. I’m a non sticky pan to events 🍳.