Up Close With: Chrissie Loveday

Meet the wonderful writers and patrons behind LWS.

Lauren McMenemy
London Writers’ Salon
3 min readJul 27, 2023

--

When she found a long-forgotten document where she had written the to-do of “write a book”, Chrissie Loveday realised how much time had passed without paying attention to her dream. Now she’s writing a memoir based on her life in Greece, and she urges us all to “make a bit of history and share learnings”. Just keep at it, she says: keep learning, keep looking, and keep doing.

Chrissie Loveday

  • Based outside Southampton, UK
  • Aged “65 years young”
  • Writes memoir and poetry

What are you working on right now?

A memoir about my life in Greece.

Where and when do you write?

Throughout the day, and anywhere I can.

How do you write?

I journal by hand and when I feel I want the pen. The rest is on my phone or iPad. Sometimes I talk to a recorder.

Why do you write?

I found a document written in 2007 where I had written, “ write a book”. It hadn’t happened and I used the excuse that I needed to photo journal to fuel me. I ended up with a Wordpress account to boost accountability. A habit built up slowly — but, I had no time. When life changed and I had time, I took baby steps until I developed this writing habit I now seem unable to stop.

What inspires your creativity?

I love learning, and I listen to thoughts which capture my ideas. Nature paves the way as does being outside with time to myself .

Nature inspires Chrissie’s work

What’s your favourite book?

Captain Corelli’s Mandolin, by Louis de Bernières.

What’s the best advice you’ve received about creativity?

Go with the flow. Just do it. Do it for you, however you want. Listen to the inner voice. Trust your intuition.

What’s the one thing you would tell other/aspiring writers?

Write, no matter what. Just do it. Write for yourself, a story for a child or loved ones add commentary to a photo album, an Instagram post. Capture moments with a story. Make a bit of history, share learnings. Read what you love and even try what you don’t. It’s all about expanding yourself and filling yourself with surprises. Keep learning, keep looking, and keep doing.

How can we discover more about you and your work?

On Instagram: @chrissieamberloveday

Tea and notebook at the ready when Chrissy is writing!

✍️ Write with Chrissie and hundreds of other writers each weekday at Writers’ Hour (it’s free).

Connect with fellow writers and build a successful, creative career with London Writers’ Salon.

--

--

Lauren McMenemy
London Writers’ Salon

Weird girl in the corner | Gothic & Folk Horror Writer | Writing Coach | Trainer & Facilitator | Mental Health Advocate | wherelaurenwrites.com | 👻🧛‍♀️🔮😈