Up Close With: Kimberlee Walker

Meet the wonderful writers and patrons behind LWS.

Lauren McMenemy
London Writers’ Salon
4 min readJul 8, 2022

--

Some people just radiate, even through the Zoom screen — this week’s featured member is one of those beautiful souls. You may recognise Kimberlee Walker from her writing in ET morning sessions, or even from hosting PT writers hours from her home in New York City. She’s an actor and writer for both stage and screen, and brings goddess energy to all that she does. But don’t take my word for it — read on for Kimberlee’s own thoughts and dreams.

Kimberlee Walker (she/her)

  • Based in New York, New York
  • Actor and writer and glowing soul
  • Writers Hour host, often found at the helm of Pacific Hour sessions

What do you write, in general?

Screenplays, plays, scenes, monologues, and short stories. This includes comedy, dark comedy, and drama, sometimes with a touch of magical realism and whimsy.

What are you working on right now?

A series that feels like it would be at home on HBO Max or Netflix. It centers on a small group of friends in NYC, some of the growing pains that occur in one’s 30s, and their misadventures with online dating. They decide to help clueless/ hapless folks who use the apps but do themselves no favors whilst on the apps.

Where and when do you write?

Usually in the mornings. Late mornings, specifically. 10:00am- 12:00pm is the sweet spot for me. Sporadically, I’ll write around 9:30 or 10:00 at night. As much as I love the thought of writing outside, there are so many distractions plus I can feel a bit exposed in a park or wherever. I prefer my little cocoon at home.

How do you write?

A beverage is a must. Usually, a combination of water, tea, and kombucha. There are usually two vessels beside me. When I’m working on a script, I’m at my desk in my bedroom or at the dining table in the living room. When I’m writing episodes or editing scenes I’m on my laptop often during Writers’ Hour. If I get a bit stuck, I journal, which I prefer to do freehand with vivid colors of ink. I prefer my bedroom for journaling and lately, my living room for typing. If there’s some snag with what a character wants to say, I reopen the character bios I wrote while listening to Thelonious Monk. I recreate having a cup of tea with the character so I can hear them clearly. This usually helps.

Why do you write?

I’ve got so many stories and characters in my head and some of them have been with me a long time. They’re people and stories I want to read or watch that don’t exist outside of me yet. It took me a while to accept that I’m the one who needs to put them out in the world. So, it’s my responsibility to free them and share them.

What inspires your creativity?

Connection and self-expression. I don’t always feel connected to other people, but being in a play or on set or telling stories to people, have all been ways for me to connect with others. Writing has been an extension of that.

Kimberlee is inspired by connection

What’s your favourite book?

A few I reread often are “I Know Why The Caged Bird Sings” By Maya Angelou, “The Starless Sea” by Erin Morgenstern and “Girl, Woman, Other” by Bernardine Evaristo

What’s the best advice you’ve received about creativity?

Be as genuine and specific as possible. Don’t worry that no one else will “get it.”

If it’s in your imagination, it’s possible. Otherwise, it wouldn’t have occurred to you.

“You’re a rare bird. You just can’t see it because you’re surrounded by other rare birds. Not everyone chooses to pursue their passions. Honor that you choose this.” -Karen Kohlhaas

“I dare you to assault your deepest fears with your greatest dreams.” -Rev. Michael A. Walrond

What’s the one thing you would tell other/aspiring writers?

Get the words out. Free all those ideas and characters and stories in your imagination and let them out into the world. Be authentically you. That’s who we need.

How can we discover more about you and your work?

Writing at the dining table is part of Kimberlee’s process; this is her view from that seat.

✍️ Write with Kimberlee and hundreds of other writers each weekday at Writers’ Hour (it’s free).

Connect with fellow writers and build a successful, creative career with London Writers’ Salon.

--

--

Lauren McMenemy
London Writers’ Salon

Weird girl in the corner | Gothic & Folk Horror Writer | Writing Coach | Trainer & Facilitator | Mental Health Advocate | wherelaurenwrites.com | 👻🧛‍♀️🔮😈