Up Close With: Laurie Mucha

Meet the wonderful writers and patrons behind LWS.

Peppur Chambers
London Writers’ Salon

--

This week, we’re switching things up a bit. We’re profiling one of our group moderators who keep special interest groups within London Writers’ Salon going strong. Meet Laurie Mucha! With humor and a dose of reality, she invites us into her colorful world where vulnerability, creativity and art mingle like a lovely bag of skittles.

Laurie Mucha

  • Based: Splits her time between London and Veyrier-du-Lac, France
  • Age: Proudly 50-something
  • Writes creative nonfiction and humour
  • Moderates: The London Writers’ Salon TV Writers’ Room

What are you working on right now?

I’m currently working on a memoir called Pathologically Grateful which is about finding my voice in perimenopause after a lifetime of people-pleasing and caregiving. I also write a weekly substack called I’ll Have What She’s Having.

Why do you host the TV Writers Room?

I have a background in film and television production. But more importantly, I love the collaborative nature of a TV Writers’ Room — group brainstorming, collective storytelling and lots of laughs!

Londoners may know me as the co-Founder and Producer of the Feminista Film Festival which ran from 2018–2022. I’m currently a member of Women in Film and Television and London Comedy Writers (a sketch and sitcom writing group).

Tell us about the TV Writers’ Room

All London Writers’ Salon members are welcome! We brainstorm solutions to your script or manuscript problems. TV writing is our focus but you can bring us any of your writing problems and we will help you brainstorm a solution. Here’s how we roll:

1 — Quick intro of everyone in the room. Tell us your name and give us a 2-minute (max) overview of what you’re working on.

2 — The fun part: Offer up a question or problem for the group to solve. Some examples:

  • I think my book/short story/idea would make a great TV show, what do I do first?
  • I’ve got a pilot script, but need help brainstorming the series arc.
  • I have a script and I need a few people to read it and give me feedback.
  • I’m looking for a great new TV show to binge this weekend, any suggestions?
  • My TV project is merely a pipe dream. But could anyone tell me how to outline my braided memoir?

Someday I’d really like to host a proper table read. If you have a completed script and you’re interested in being our guinea pig, please get in touch!

Where and when do you write?

I’ve got a solid morning routine which includes strong coffee, my journal and giant noise-cancelling headphones. I travel a lot and this routine serves me well. Somewhere between the first and second coffee, I move from navel-gazing to outward-facing. I’m most productive before lunch. If I accomplish anything after 1pm, it’s a surprise gift from the universe, but I don’t count on that.

Why do you write?

I write to remind myself who I am. I write to figure out who I want to be. I write because left to my own devices I’d alternate between servitude and slothfulness.

What inspires your creativity?

Travel, books, podcasts, performances.

From Laurie’s Blog: Luc Lavenseau, as seen at Galerie d’Art Sylvie Platini, in Veyrier-du-Lac.

What’s your favourite book?

Delightful work from these authors:

  • Fiction: Ruth Ozeki, Barbara Kingsolver, Kristin Hannah
  • Nonfiction: Maggie Smith, Nora Ephron, Holly Whitaker, Lindsey Trout Hughes

Favourite TV shows?

Better Things, Schitt’s Creek, Veep, Shrinking, The Diplomat, Curb Your Enthusiasm, Gilmore Girls, Fleabag, SNL

What’s the best advice you’ve received about creativity?

What if writing was fun? What would that look like?

What’s the one thing you would tell other/aspiring writers?

Just do the work. I promise it’s less painful than avoiding it.

How can we discover more about you and your work?

From Laurie’s Blog: QUOTE ~ “My friend told me that if you keep shutting the door on your muse, she will eventually stop knocking. Your muse will find another, more receptive home for her ideas.” ART ~ Valerie Hadida

✍️ Write with Laurie and hundreds of other writers each weekday at Writers’ Hour (it’s free).

Connect with fellow writers and build a successful, creative career with London Writers’ Salon.

--

--

Peppur Chambers
London Writers’ Salon

The Hot One. 🔥{Writer. Producer. Educator.} Empowering women & telling stories of heroes. www.penandpeppur.com IG: @peppurthehotone AUTHOR: Harlem's Last Dance