Up Close With: Simona Burla

Meet the wonderful writers and patrons behind LWS.

Peppur Chambers
London Writers’ Salon

--

With gentle grace, Simona Burla reminds us to be grounded in the moment, for it is here our creativity speaks to us. For, it is here, where we can connect to our truth and our beauty.

Simona Burla

  • Based in Seattle, WA, USA.
  • Writes short stories, memoir, poems. In English and in Italian.

What are you working on right now?

A memoir.

Where and when do you write?

Usually I write in the mornings, sometimes in the evenings, with a cup of tea. Dusk and dawn, with the light of a candle, are my favorite times to write, cozy at home, at my dining room table. I also enjoy writing at a cafe, and I love the occasional and spontaneous writing while sitting on a rock during a nature hike.

How do you write?

I love writing by hand, with my favorite pen, on a large spiral-bound notebook. I prefer to write following the spark of spontaneous inspiration, which usually hits me when I am relaxing while my hands are busy making a meal, creating, washing dishes or painting. I also enjoy writing to a prompt, either alone or within a group. Sometimes I write directly on the computer, but I find it difficult to resist the temptation to edit as I write. For this reason I prefer handwriting, and letting the writing sit for a while before doing any editing.

Why do you write?

I write because it feels good in my body and it’s soothing to my mind. Writing helps me process, find clarity, become more grounded, connect with inspiration and find a sense of direction. Writing helps me with life-lessons integration. I write to connect with deeper truths within myself, and to connect with others in meaningful ways.

What inspires your creativity?

Slowing down, noticing beauty in the ordinary, being fully present and connected to myself. Traveling, bathing in nature and in creative expression, both visual arts and performing arts.

When inspiration strikes, Simona captures it. [ED note: “Sea and Sienna Speak”]

What’s your favourite book?

Rise Sister Rise! by Rebecca Campbell.

What’s the best advice you’ve received about creativity?

Making space for it by being open to the shape it takes, being present to the process and refraining from defining its expression too early.

What’s the one thing you would tell other/aspiring writers?

To not underestimate the power of following the gentle and fleeting nudges to write, even if for a brief moment, because one line of writing is better than no writing! And one line of words opens the door to more writing.

How can we discover more about you and your work?

Sun kisses green.

Simona’s writing view; a gentle and fleeting nudge.

✍️ Write with Simona and hundreds of other writers each weekday at Writers’ Hour (it’s free).

Connect with fellow writers and build a successful, creative career with London Writers’ Salon.

--

--

Peppur Chambers
London Writers’ Salon

The Hot One. 🔥{Writer. Producer. Educator.} Empowering women & telling stories of heroes. www.penandpeppur.com IG: @peppurthehotone AUTHOR: Harlem's Last Dance