Up Close With: Tracy O’Brien

Meet the wonderful writers and patrons behind LWS.

Lauren McMenemy
London Writers’ Salon
3 min readFeb 11, 2022

--

Intuition leads this week’s patron profilee to creativity. She had been painting angels and portals when one of her muses wanted to share a story, and so it began. A staple in the more mythic parts of our community, Tracy’s bright smile and energy shine bright through the Zoom rooms. World, meet our resident angel of the Isle of Wight, Tracy O’Brien!

Tracy O’Brien

  • Based “on the beautiful Isle of Wight — or as we like to call it, South Island”
  • Aged “54 years young”
  • Writes spiritual-based fantasy fiction

What are you working on right now?

I am currently writing my first book about how angels and spiritual beings can help humanity live in harmony and defeat the Darkness within all of us.

Where and when do you write?

I write in the morning, at the 8am UK session, at home with my candles lit and the fairy lights on.

How do you write?

I write intuitively, and I find it best to write by hand first. Ink and paper are my friend. Then I transcribe into Scrivener, which helps to consolidate the story and shows the direction I am going in.

Why do you write?

I have been painting angels and portals all year, and one of the angels wanted to tell her story, so here I am. I have been drawn towards living a more spiritually-connected life since last year, and the painting and the writing is part of that. I want to be able to encourage more people to live a heart-centered life, acting from love, not fear or anger.

What inspires your creativity?

I trust my intuition, follow where I am led. Nature, spirit, angels all guide my path when it comes to my creativity. I love rainbows, history, the supernatural and am just begining to use Oracle and Tarot cards in my everyday life.

Tracy follows her intuition to find her creativity

What’s your favourite book?

Oh crikey, thats a hard question. We have audio books on almost constantly at home — mostly Harry Potter and Agatha Christie. I think my favourite listen last month was Big Magic by Elizabeth Gilbert, and I love the Deborah Harkness’s Discovery of Witches trilogy — the detail is amazing.

What’s the best advice you’ve received about creativity?

Just do it. If you spend too long trying to be perfect you will fail through fear. Allow yourself to play, and do what you enjoy.

What’s the one thing you would tell other/aspiring writers?

Just to write, and don’t be too hard on yourself. Put pen to paper or whatever works for you, but just do it, find your own flow.

How can we discover more about you and your work?

  • My newsletter can be found here
  • My Paintings can be found here, on my website
  • I have two Instagram profiles: Yarnsmith Art Studio for my art and spiritual musings, or for my art and spiritual musings or here for my day to day antics, cats, knitting, cooking, etc.
  • On Facebook, find my personal page here, my arty stuff here, and my knitting and craft stuff here.
Tracy’s writing view goes for miles and miles

✍️ Write with Tracy and hundreds of other writers each weekday at Writers’ Hour (it’s free).

Connect with fellow writers and build a successful, creative career with London Writers’ Salon.

--

--

Lauren McMenemy
London Writers’ Salon

Weird girl in the corner | Gothic & Folk Horror Writer | Writing Coach | Trainer & Facilitator | Mental Health Advocate | wherelaurenwrites.com | 👻🧛‍♀️🔮😈