“Marching in Pride terrifies me!”

London Gaymers march in the Pride in London Parade this year, and for some this is a daunting feeling. London Gaymers admin, Rafael Campos Valdez shares his story.

London Gaymers
London Gaymers
2 min readJun 30, 2017

--

Photo: ©2016 James Gourley/REX/Shutterstock

I’ve never marched in a Pride parade before and, to be completely honest, the thought of doing it terrifies me. From still having some reservations about being completely out to hating the thought of thousands of eyes on me, I’ve had many reasons to not have marched before. But this year, I’m marching with London Gaymers. Here’s why.

Like many of you, I grew up feeling out of place no matter where I went. In all honesty, I kind of resigned to that being my life many years ago. I was never going to be “cool” enough to properly be included with my gay friends and I was never going to be comfortable being out with the people I played games with. The result? I grew up feeling lonely, like I’m sure many of you did. That is, until I found London Gaymers.

Photo: Pride in London

London Gaymers is here to tell people who are just like us that there is a place for them. A place where nerdy LGBT+ people don’t have to worry about societal expectations and labels. A place where we can be ourselves and make friends with others like us. My life has seen such a positive change since joining this group and I think it’s our mission to shout as loud as possible and let every other gaymer know there’s a place for them, too. That’s why I’m marching.

We all know how great London Gaymers is, and it’s time to show the city exactly that!

--

--

London Gaymers
London Gaymers

LGBT+ community for gamers in London and the UK to connect. This account is used to post to the London Gaymers publication http://medium.com/LondonGaymers