Kiosk Unveiled: A Solo Dev’s Journey to Overnight Success

M.
Lone Code Chronicles
6 min read11 hours ago

--

In recent years, indie games have revolutionized the gaming world, proving that solo developers and small teams can create experiences that rival the most impressive studio releases. These games are not just incredibly enjoyable — they also demonstrate the immense passion, dedication, and creativity of their creators.

Today, we are diving into the story of a solo game developer whose game shot to the top of the charts on itch.io in record time. Meet Vivi, the developer behind Kiosk. In the game, you take on the night shift at a small food kiosk, only to discover that the previous worker vanished under mysterious circumstances.

M:
Hello Vivi. Thank you for taking the time to do this interview with me. Can you tell us a bit about your background on how you became a game developer, and how your journey lead to creating your own game?

Vivi:
Hello M. Sure! I did not go to college, so I decided to spend my time learning a skill that would get me a job. I played a lot of games as a kid and always wanted to make them. So, I started watching YouTube videos on Unity and C#. After three months of learning day and night, I got a job as an intern at a game development company where I still work. However, I always had a desire to create something of my own, to bring my unique vision to life. That is exactly what I did with my own game Kiosk, taking all that I had learned and applying it to a personal project.

A personal touch: The developer as one of the in-game characters

M:
Thank you. I played Kiosk myself, and I absolutely enjoyed it! I gave me similar vibes to Fears to Fathom and Chilla’s Art titles, which are among my favorite indie games.

V:
Thank you! I am glad you liked it. It is interesting that you mention those titles because they definitely influenced my work.

M:
That is fascinating. Can you elaborate more on where you got the inspiration for Kiosk?

V:
My parents own a small fast-food shop, kind of like a kiosk with a little window. I wanted to create a game that I could realistically complete, so I decided to set it in a small, contained area. My goal was to fill it with rich details and a satisfying atmosphere. I also drew inspiration from games like Iron Lung, where the gameplay takes place in a confined space. However, I wanted to give players the freedom to explore and interact with the environment in their own way.

M:
You captured those aspects very well. Can you walk us through your typical day as a solo game developer? How do you manage your time and stay productive, especially with daily responsibilities?

V:
I work from 8 to 4 at my day job. After work, I walk my dog and eat dinner, and then it is time to focus on my solo project. Whenever I find free time, I dedicate it to working on my game. I am very committed to my craft, ensuring that I make consistent progress. Despite my dedication, I understand the importance of balance, so I always make sure to reserve some time for family and friends.

M:
I completely agree — balance is crucial. What were some of the biggest challenges you faced during development, and how did you overcome them?

V:
One of the biggest challenges was 3D modeling and rigging characters, as I had never done it before. To overcome this, I spent a lot of time studying tutorials and practicing. It was a steep learning curve, but I gradually improved.

M:
Which aspect of game development do you enjoy the most, and why?

V:
I enjoy 3D modeling and texturing the most. It is fun for me because I am new to Blender, and I love learning new things. Working on the visual aspects of the game also provides a creative outlet that complements the technical challenges of programming and design.

A customer waiting for his order

M:
That is really interesting. How do you stay motivated and inspired, especially when working alone on a project?

V:
I stay motivated and inspired by looking at the work of other solo game developers and playing a variety of games. Seeing what others have accomplished drives me to push forward with my own projects. Developers like Mike Klubnika and David Szymanski are particularly inspiring to me.

M:
I will have to check out their work. How did you handle aspects of game development that were outside your expertise?

V:
I handle those aspects by dedicating time to learn them. This involves researching, watching tutorials, and practicing until I get the hang of it. It is time-consuming, but it is worth it because it helps me grow both as a developer and as a person. Learning new skills not only helps me tackle current challenges but also prepares me for future projects.

M:
That is a great mindset. Can you share a particular feature or element of your game that you are especially proud of, and what makes it special to you?

V:
I am particularly proud of the player movement in Kiosk. It is inspired by games like Doom, HROT, and CS:GO, which have fluid and responsive controls. This feature is special to me because it directly impacts the player’s experience and engagement with the game.

M:
Definitely! I have played indie games with a great design and story, but bad movement ruined the overall experience. What advice would you give to other aspiring solo game developers who are just starting their own projects?

V:
My advice is to embrace the learning process and not be afraid to tackle new things. Understand that creating something great takes time. Do not rush through your projects; take the time to do things right and continuously improve your skills. Stay patient, persistent, and passionate about what you are creating. The journey may be challenging, but seeing your vision come to life is incredibly rewarding.

Words of desperation

M:
Thank you for sharing such valuable advice. I am sure many aspiring developers will find your words both inspiring and encouraging. Did you expect your game to become as successful as it has?

V:
I did not expect it to become the number one game on itch.io, but I was not completely surprised either. I put a lot of effort into the game, and I am glad that players appreciate it.

M:
Now, the final and most important question: Can we expect to see more games from you in the future?

V:
Yes, definitely. I plan to develop more games. The positive feedback for Kiosk has motivated me even more to continue solo development.

M:
We are looking forward to your future projects. Thank you for sharing your journey and insights with us!

V:
Thank you for having me.

You can download Kiosk directly from itch.io, where you can also support the developer by making a donation. Kiosk will soon be available on Steam as well, so be sure to add it to your wishlist to stay updated on its release!

This was the first article in the Lone Code Chronicles series, where we dive into the world of indie games and spotlight the incredible journeys of independent developers through in-depth interviews. Stay tuned for more content!

--

--