Dear Hillary Clinton,

An open letter to the one who’s “prepared” to be president

22 West Magazine
22 West Magazine
2 min readOct 5, 2016

--

By Karrie Comfort, Staff Writer

I’m not going to lie, I was going to send you an email so as to not waste paper, but I was afraid it might get lost in the daily shuffle.

Too soon?

Last year I wrote a rather scathing letter to our friend Donald Trump, very unaware that he would get the Republican nomination and now here we are. I figured you might need a letter too.

I am also beginning to wonder about your physical ability to be our president.

Now, Franklin D. Roosevelt tried to cover up his wheelchair use, due to his bout with polio, but that is quite a different thing than what appear to be sporadic seizures and fainting spells.

However, under the generous assumption that you are perfectly well, I am more concerned about your character as a politician. Here is why:

I am not sure I can trust someone who has repeatedly lied to the American people — whether it be Benghazi or email servers, you always seem to have your nose in something dishonest.

I mean, don’t get me wrong, I hate terrorism as much as the next guy, but it does slightly chill the blood to hear a secretary of state be so gungho about foreign wars.

You seem to pride yourself on being able to make “hard choices”, like sending troops out on largely failing battles. I sure wouldn’t want to make that hard choice.

But don’t take my word for it.

Ask the tens of thousands of men, women, and children from the Middle East. And no one can forget about those nearly-never mentioned carpet-bombed countries like Somalia. Except that most of us have forgotten, so I guess we can.

However, I understand that most Americans are voting based on issues that affect us directly, which is understandable.

But, this only increases my nervousness about your possible election.

As someone who is more or less bought and paid by various corporations, I am well aware that my vote will be used to elect you, and their corporate dollars will sustain you. What a nice little deal.

Lastly and personally one of the most distasteful things about you, Mrs. Clinton, is your constant pandering towards us African-Americans.

When accused of racial pandering, you facetiously asked if, “it was working?”

No, Mrs. Clinton. It is most definitely not.

Something else that is not working, I might add, are your outfits. I mean with all those corporate dollars, one can most certainly hire a stylist.

So, Hillary, there’s probably a few more things I could say, but this letter is getting a bit long, so I think I’m going to plead the fifth.

I’m sure you’ll understand.

--

--