Space and long distance

Something I struggle with because of the hours.

Dennis Buizert
Long Distance Relationships

--

Ever since I started dating my fiancee I have had a problem with giving her space. Almost two years later I still do. I am 6 hours a head of her. So every I do is when she is asleep or when she is at work. I sometimes have a hard time with giving her the time that she wants alone. Not because I dont respect it, but because of the time zones. I have my so called alone time, but i keep forgetting she doesn’t so when she asks for it I struggle with it.

Not being confident enough doesn’t help either. I sometimes think that she might find some guy who lives closer, but deep down I know its not true. Just the thought. It comes from past relationships where things happened that only she knows about not even my family.

But giving each space, no matter how hard it is, is so important in a long distance. If you spend the whole time talking with each other on Skype it just ends up being turned on and you’re both doing your own thing. That is the case with us most the time. Not that we mind it but she needs to decompress sometimes, more so than me.

Plus in a few months time I will be immigrating to her so the gap wont be there. And giving each space actually becomes easier. We both will have jobs and want to keep a live outside of our relationship. So right now I just need to bite through the last few months and give her all the space she needs and support her the best I can. I really feel guilty and it pains me when I don’t do it or struggle with giving her the space. Its very childish and selfish.

Take this away from me; no matter how hard it may be give your SO the alone time he/she wants and it will pay off in the long run. Especially if you are close to closing the gap.

--

--