The distance is too strong!

And creates tension. Small things become big issues suddenly.

Dennis Buizert
Long Distance Relationships

--

Lately I am struggling with the distance between me and my fiancee. Mainly because we filed for a K1 visa and we have to wait a long time. Its hard. I planned on visiting right after I turned in my thesis, but now with the filing it will have to wait. The tickets are expensive and on average a visit is expensive. Its frustrating. The distance is hard sometimes.

On days that are of significant importance are hard to handle or face alone. My fiancee will be switching jobs and its hard on her. She worked at her previous employer since 2012 and has had a blast. Too bad her managers didn’t see her potential like her new employer does. Her coworkers are what kept her going. And on nights after a bed shift I would be a listening ear but then the moment she left the room, I fall asleep because of the timezone difference.

I just wish the distance wasn’t this strong. This hard to bridge. The wait this long. Its taking its toll on us. It makes us bicker more over things that are important to us. I wish she was her when I graduate or that I was with her when she told her coworkers good bye and be the shoulder to cry on and tell her it will all be okay.

The distance is strong and powerful. A real test of mental endurance. However we are counting down. In just a mere few months we will be united. We will share the same bed, house and last name. Its exciting and what keeps us going. Knowing it will end soon.

For everyone else struggling, keep at it. The small things make a difference. Time will soon turn into you favor. It will only strengthen the relationship.

--

--