Wildlife and Nature

Garden of the Gods

Natures Sandstone Gift to Colorado Springs

Jim Sabourin
7 min readMay 8, 2024

--

Entrance Sign to Garden of the Gods Park, Colorado Springs CO
Author’s image, Garden of the Gods entrance sign

I lived in Colorado Springs for about five years. In that time I bet I visited Garden of the Gods park at least 250 times, it’s an experience you never tire of. I spent many weekends walking/driving through the park. Not to mention, my workplace was just a half mile up the road from this iconic adult playground, I spent many a lunch-break inside the park, enjoying the view as I ate.

This is one of those places everyone should put on their bucket list. There’s a reason Garden of the Gods (GOTG) was designated a registered National Natural Landmark back in 1971, it’s that uniquely beautiful. The rock formations known as ‘Fins’ are some of the thinnest outcroppings you’ll see anywhere in the world.

When I lived near GOTG 25 years ago you could wander around the park with only a few people within your sight, not anymore, today the national landmark has become so popular I recommend you visit on a weekday morning, the weekends have become so crowded it can be difficult to find a parking space let alone have a moment of solitude.

--

--

Jim Sabourin

I'm here to share an eclectic mix of personal experience, random observations, and organized opinions.