Different Year, Same Family Thanksgiving

So many changes in our lives, but we still come back together for Thanksgiving every year

Jordan Mendiola
Long-Term Perspective

--

Photo Courtesy of Author

Growing up in a military family means having a deep relationship with everyone involved. My two younger brothers and I had to come together to survive the constant moves that came along.

My parents have done an excellent job raising us and showing us how to work hard and love one another.

Thanksgiving has been essential to our family since we know it's the time of year we all get together to bond and reminisce.

Military Family Bonds Run Deep

I wouldn’t be the person I am today if I wasn’t part of a military family. There were several important lessons moving around taught me.

  • Your family will always be there for you, no matter what.
  • Show respect to everyone and genuine support to those who deserve it.
  • Stay active in sports and fitness — close friends and relationships will come from it.
  • Don’t hoard too much stuff because there’s a chance that you’ll be moving. Plus, material items don’t carry more value than the relationship with those in your circle.
  • Be open to adapting to change…

--

--

Jordan Mendiola
Long-Term Perspective

I started writing during the pandemic, took a short break. But have returned for more. Quality over quantity this second time around. Thanks for being here!