How an Unintentional New Morning Routine Changed My Day

A subtle shift can make all the difference

Kristi Jacobsen
Long-Term Perspective

--

I used to scoff at the articles suggesting I get up at 5 am to start writing or working on my side-hustle.

As a night-owl, my creativity and drive come to me at night. My mind is a mess of cobwebs in the morning, and I’m never fully awake until mid-morning and four cups of coffee later.

Getting up in the morning for work was always a struggle. I pulled myself out of bed at the last minute, threw on jeans and a t-shirt (we’re a casual company), and drove my 5-minute commute to the office.

When Los Angeles implemented lockdown, and my company went into work from home mode, my morning routine went out the door. For the first several months, I rolled out of bed at 7:45 am and was at my desk 5 feet away by 8 am.

This routine lasted for months. My day started in a frantic rush to make coffee and breakfast in time for my 8 am log in. It was stressful, and I never had time for self-care in the morning.

But, sleep was precious to me, so I continued with that routine.

Then fall arrived, and with it, shorter days. I realized my evening walks needed to become morning walks to avoid walking in a dangerous neighborhood at night. I moved my…

--

--

Kristi Jacobsen
Long-Term Perspective

I write about podcasting, entrepreneurship, digital nomadism, and achieving long-term results.