I Lived Out Of A Suitcase For Over A Year

Here are 3 massive minimalist takeaways you can implement into your life today

Rick Martinez
Long-Term Perspective

--

Photo of author: Rick Martinez

I always believed that the secret to a beautiful life was partially embedded in having more stuff.

You’ve heard it as well. Get a well-paying job and career. Buy the white picket fence and slide a couple, or three, nice cars right in. Preferably the kind made in Germany and that warm your butt on cold days.

Accumulation of things, they said, was the righteous path to having a life worth living.

I bought into it.

Look, I’m not gonna make a judgment call either way. You see, along that path to white picket fences and German cars, we also did some incredible things. We built a company that hired 600 people, helped numerous folks through non-profit donations, and gave lots of time back to startups and other entrepreneurs just beginning their journey.

So it’s not as simple as black and white.

But the truth is that I always believed that the secret to a beautiful life was partially embedded in having more stuff, until the day I didn’t.

It wasn’t until just a few years ago that the whole minimalism movement really began to take root in me.

--

--

Rick Martinez
Long-Term Perspective

My journey began on food stamps • I help CEOs & entrepreneurs write & publish books that give them authority & legacy • Former CEO turned ghostwriter