Multitasking is Harming Your Success

Why focusing on one thing at a time is more productive

Kristi Jacobsen
Long-Term Perspective

--

We’ve all seen it before, a job listing that includes “multitasking” as a desired job qualification. My job description and my employees’ job descriptions include it.

I once prided myself on being able to multitask. Answer the phone, hand motion something to a colleague, and continue on an email. Jump between data entry, emails, and helping co-workers. I was effective at my job by multitasking, or so I thought.

Within the first week of work-from-home, I realized how ineffective I was when multitasking. Eliminating the office environment with interrupting co-workers and other distractions allowed me to focus on my work and one task at a time.

Not only was I more productive, but my work was also more accurate, and it didn’t seem like I was rushing through tasks.

Multi-Tasking Takes You Out of the Present Moment

Did you know your brain can’t focus on more than one thing at a time? When you’re multitasking, you’re splitting your focus. You shift your attention from one task to another, so you’re never fully present (businessnewsdaily.com).

--

--

Kristi Jacobsen
Long-Term Perspective

I write about podcasting, entrepreneurship, digital nomadism, and achieving long-term results.