💡Specific and Unusual Passive Income Ideas — a Compact List.

The Girl
Long-Term Perspective
4 min readNov 4, 2022

Yes, unusual. Once you read it, you’ll get why.

Image generated using Stable Diffusion.

But first, let’s explain passive income to a 5-year-old because why not (also to cover all bases):

What is PASSIVE INCOME? Passive income is money that you earn without having to work for it. For example, if you own a rental property, you can earn money every month from the rent that your tenants pay, without having to do any work.

This list contains ideas for passive income and earning money that you can truly consider passive. Now, is the idea attached to an activity you’re already performing? Perhaps, BUT if you’re already doing it, then these add-ons are truly passive.

The structure of this list goes the following way: you’ll see a pre-requisite (PR) for the gig and then you’ll see the gig explained and how to get there.

Let’s get to it!👀👇🏾

  1. PR: UBER DRIVER

GIG: Display ads in the back seats using a tablet or a monitor. Advertise your ride in online forums, contact local companies directly, email and cold call, and offer a package they won’t reject.

I.E: ‘Hi this is (name). I am an Uber driver with a 4/5 star rating and I work from 9 am to 3pm on a weekend basis. I complete an average of 50–70 rides and I display Ads in the back of the car by using monitors. A minimum of 50 people will be exposed to your business on a regular basis, and it’ll only cost you 100$ a month. I will check in every day that I work with Uber so you can see the ads are being displayed’.

I’ll be honest, if I was a business owner, I would jump at this opportunity.

It’s cheap enough and it’ll get me exposure.

Be creative and leverage your Uber gig: do you give a lot of rides from the airport? Mention it and sell it as an opportunity for the businesses to reach tourists and visitors before anyone else. Maybe recommend a personalized offer that you can give your Uber clients if they choose to buy from the business after seeing your ad.

This strategy is passive (after you set up the base of finding businesses that wish to cooperate with you). Think about it, 100$ x 5 businesses a month = 500$ extra dollars in your pocket.

2. PR: Being a parent.

GIG: Lend your baby seats and gear for a competitive price to friends and acquaintances.

WHAT ABOUT THE BABY SEAT(S) THAT ARE NO LONGER, OR SELDOM, USED GATHERING DUST IN THE GARAGE?

Gotcha! It doesn’t have to be a baby seat. Any baby gear that you have that you’ll no longer use and it still complies with safety features, lend it for a small fee. It can even be long-term lending. I do not advise reselling because that would make it a one-time income stream, and not a continuous, passive one.

Be creative. Even books for moms and dads-to-be can be rented for a small price. Are you planning on having more children and won’t give up the gear? You can still rent it in the meantime. No shame in hustle culture.

3. PR: Being a student.

GIG: Resell your notes and knowledge.

Yes, yes, this isn’t new BUT you already took notes for yourself yes? Why not capitalize on it and resell your notes? If you want to really appeal, be mindful of how the notes are gathered and the schema you used for organizing them.

Pro tip: Use a Notion template to ‘dump’ it all in an organized way and sell the docs.

4. PR: Being a student.

GIG: Be a ‘live’ affiliate representative.

Wait, what?! I said ‘live’ because usually affiliate deals are made and displayed online, BUT, what if you go ahead and contact a few school suppliers and even clothing brands and offer to use their products?

Companies are eager to get into students’ minds. If you study a tech degree, contact several companies that sell those cute keyboards, desk clocks, and neon light decorations (that you can bring with you) and be bold, i.e:

‘Hey I’m a CS student and I’m constantly surrounded by nerds like me. You can sell me x, y and z at a reduced price and I’ll intentionally promote the product’.

Does this mean you have to be a sell-out and a walking seller? Heck no. It could be as simple as: ‘Bro, been using this mechanical keyboard and it is by far THE BEST I’ve ever used.’. Sounds natural enough and it won’t come off as pushy. You do have to genuinely like the product though, no cheating.

How do I know this works? I recently purchased a pair of eyeglasses and they give you 20€ credit for each person that makes a purchase (even small) and says my name when they go pay. They get a 10% discount too. By now, I gathered a 40€ store credit that I plan to use on my next purchase and my two friends both got a 10% discount.

It also worked with my tax filing software. Spoke to 5–7 friends about using my referral link and getting 10€ off their filing. One friend used it, purchased the Pro Plan using my link, and got 15€ off a 35€ bill. I got 20€ back since it was a Pro Plan.

Talking to friends and acquaintances work. Don’t sleep on it.

That’s it, folks. Four simple and fool-proof passive income ideas anyone can use and put to test (I’ve tested the last two and gotten results). If you do any of these or plan to, please let me know in the comments and keep us updated. Thank you for reading.🤗

Liked this piece? Your support keeps me motivated and helps me reach further! Don’t forget to show some love or comment with your thoughts!

--

--

The Girl
Long-Term Perspective

Making money online | Personal finance | AI | Programming | Machine Learning | Productivity tools & methods