The Emotional Waves of Content Creation

One day you’re flying high, the next you’re underwhelmed.

Jordan Mendiola
Long-Term Perspective

--

Photo by Brian Ceccato on Unsplash

The desire to keep going as a creator can be confusing. For the past year, I have been figuring out who I am. I spent time on Instagram posting weekly reels — pushing myself to do voiceovers.

For a few years, I was a daily blog writer.

At one point, I chased YouTube goals.

The dopamine rush that comes with posting a new piece of content is exhilarating, but instead of having an external reward for myself, I use it to put it toward the next piece of content.

When you get a dopamine rush, however, and keep pushing on, then you eventually burn out.

Burnout is when you’ve done something to a certain degree that your brain feels fried and motivation drops like the stock market (post-pandemic).

Without consistency, you’ll never finish what you set out to accomplish. Don’t be afraid to fail because you may just be one video or article away from hitting big.

Dreams without goals are just dreams. That’s why it takes consistency. When you conduct a bunch of failed experiments, you are one step closer to success.

--

--

Jordan Mendiola
Long-Term Perspective

Helping develop a better mindset for a brighter future. Covers army, content creation, fitness, mindset tips, and more!