Pageants

The Hidden Message Behind the Mrs. Congeniality Title

Please do not present me with that award

Kail Harbick
Long-Term Perspective
5 min readOct 24, 2022

--

Mrs. Springfield America Pageant contestant, Kail Harbick
Photo by Author

Yes, there are pageants for married women and if you’re in the audience cheering for me at the Mrs. Oregon America pageant, you would sit upright, clap loudly and even let out a whoop when the emcee announced I won the Mrs. Congeniality award.

But let me tell you, no serious pageant contestant wants that award.

I won that award!

I won! Yay me.

Photo by cinemagia.ro

Miss/Mrs Congeniality…What is it?

Whenever I hear who won the Mrs. Congeniality title in pageants, I think about the iconic, 2000 movie, Miss Congeniality staring Sandra Bullock.

In the end of that movie, she didn’t win the crown, but she was the hero.

Are you familiar with it? It’s a cute, fun and a must-see movie.

What is the Mrs. Congeniality award?

At some point during the week of pageant activities, rehearsals, and competition the contestants vote and select the woman who has been the…

--

--

Kail Harbick
Long-Term Perspective

Hi, I’m Kail Harbick. I am best known for my appearance on the CBS reality television show Big Brother, season 8. Top writer in Television and Inspiration