Unfinished

Jenni Speaks
Look Good, Feel Good, Do Good
3 min readJan 6, 2018

What I Learned in 2017

If I had to pick one word to describe God’s work in my life the past year, I’d have to choose the word “Unfinished” (greatly inspired by Mandisa’s song, Unfinished).

It can become easy to empower others in weathering their storms in life, but when the storm hits your own life, and the perfect world you have so carefully crafted begins to change due to circumstances outside of your control–is when your true faith is tested.

My own was put to the test last year when God suddenly closed the door shut along the path I had been walking for the past five years. For months, I struggled with feelings of hopelessness and discouragement, wandering in the dark in desperate search of which path I should re-route myself toward… a new door to walk through. This wasn’t in my plan… where do I go now?!

Although I have not yet found that door, the Word of the Lord has shone His light and directed me back to the path I need to be on in order to get there. Now, I trust that under His direction and perfect timing, all I need to do is continue to follow Him by faith, each step along the path, and I’ll get to where I need to be. He has already shown me He will provide me with what I need for the journey. And, somehow, I already know that where He is leading me is better than where I have come. Because His plan is better than my own plan. And, although I cannot see the full picture of what that plan is, I can already begin to see the individual pieces falling into place.

“Faith is taking the first step when you cannot see the whole staircase” Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.

Seasons change, and sometimes that change is not the most comfortable, but it’s necessary in order to grow. I can still feel the Good Lord working on something good with me–I’m just not quite finished yet.

10 Things I Learned in 2017:

  1. When one door closes, God has a better one about to open.
  2. If things don’t go according to plan, it’s not the end.
  3. God’s plan is better than my plan.
  4. Alone I am weak, but through Christ I am strong.
  5. Sometimes one has to let go of people and things they may love that are actually holding them back in life in order to grow.
  6. Do not worry about tomorrow, or stress over yesterday… simply focus on today.
  7. Know that no matter what storm I face, Christ will weather it with me and lead me through.
  8. Be eternally grateful for the loved ones who weather your storms with you, and love you even through your lowest points in life.
  9. Just because I’m unfinished doesn’t mean i’m un-usable, unworthy, or broken.
  10. When I am finished, God will use me to accomplish great things.

--

--

Jenni Speaks
Look Good, Feel Good, Do Good

Speaking my mind about projects and events that help people look good, feel good, or do something good.