The Most Valuable Thing I Ever Made, A Button

Allow anyone with a debit card to send money through this elegant “pay me” button.

Michael Schultz
5 min readDec 3, 2013

--

Important Update: $cashtags are here. Replace the email links below with your $cashtag link followed by the amount of cash you want someone to send you.

Example: https://cash.me/$michaelschultz/1.50

Downloadable buttons and demo below or signup for Square Cash now.

Square is helping a lot of people become entrepreneurs by allowing anyone to pay for goods without having to carry cash around. But what about when you need to give a friend or family member a couple bucks? Maybe you’re paying them back for some money they lent you, or paying your part of the split check at dinner…there are a million reasons you might want to give someone money. If you don’t have cash, or the correct denomination, what do you do?

Send them money using Square Cash, that’s what you do. Cash is a new completely FREE method of sending cash to ANYONE. Yeah, seriously. This is the future folks.

I’ve been using Square Cash for about 4 months now and let me tell you, it’s far and away the most intuitive, elegant solution to the age old problem of giving someone money when you don’t have cash, a check, heck even your wallet on you.

Here’s the gist (update dec. 2016 emails no longer work)

Let’s say I owe you a couple bucks for a lunch we had together where you picked up the check because I left my wallet at the office. All I need to do is send you an email (using any email service) with the subject line of how much I want to send ($5) and carbon copy (CC) cash@square.com. You then receive an email from Square stating the amount of money I sent you and a button that says “Accept”.

On the first go around, Square will ask you to register a debit card where you want the money to be transferred. After that, the money will be deposited directly in your bank account within 1 to 2 days. That’s it.

Example of all you have to do to send money via Square Cash.

This is great right? Don’t take my word for it, try it yourself. I use it all the time and let me tell you, it’s like living in the future.

If you’ve made it this far, thanks for sticking around. I think we may have a connection. If you ever want to grab a cup of coffee and you’re in the bay area, I’d love to buy you a cup. Shoot me a message @michaelschultz on Twitter.

So there are a ton of donation and backing platforms out there, but why not a simple send me money button that could be used for ANYTHING. Embed it on any website, giving others the ability to send you cash for whatever. Maybe it’s for a good cause, or a way to sell your junk, or maybe you ask all your friends to pool together to help you pay rent. This button has a lot of power and I think it’s something that’s been missing in the Square ecosystem.

Nice idea! Super easy replacement for donate buttons on websites!

@gregsqueeb

Here’s how the button works

The button or link is nothing but a simple mailto: link. Mailto links allow you to create an email template inside of a link. When clicked on, users are taken to their email with a pre filled message ready to send. To show off how this works I’ve created an example below.

Make your own link/button

I found a really simple website to help make mailto: links for you. Visit mailto.co.uk and fill out the form, make sure to include YOUR email address in the to field, the dollar amount in the subject field and most importantly add cash@square.com in the CC field. Hit “Generate MailTo Link” and bam, your very own ‘pay me’ link. To turn this into a button, just wrap it around any button you want. I’ve provided a couple of freebies below. :)

It’s a use of Square Cash I hadn’t thought of, smart stuff. Tons of options with simple systems like this. — @Brodowski

Wanna give it a try?

No Thanks. — Appreciate you being honest. A recommend would be awesome.

Sure! — Thanks for being awesome ( ^ unlike these cheapskates). You sound like a smart person who understands the worth of a dollar and how it can do wonderful things when pooled together with other like bills. To test the button functionality click on the link below to send $1.Well worth the knowledge you now have, right? You’re a rockstar. Thanks.

Here are a couple (free to use) buttons I made,
download them here.

Download these buttons for free http://cl.ly/SfJg

Try the demo:

Buttons can also be text links, imagine this link
is a hip, sexy button — Send Cash $1

I really hope you gained some value from this and are already thinking of ways you can use this button to make your life easier, better, faster…

Seriously though, if you enjoyed this read please hit the RECOMMEND button below, it helps spread the word and gives me a fuzzy feeling.

--

--

Michael Schultz

Designer, tinkerer, music maker, game player, photo taker.