Living in Lockdown Part 1: “Walking Brings Me Back To Myself”

Rebecca Jardine
Looking Both Ways
Published in
3 min readFeb 20, 2021

I’ve put pen to paper and drafted so many blog posts over the last few months addressing the elephant in the room; Lockdown.

Unfortunately for me (and my wine cabinet), all drafts have ended up in the bin. This is because I’m acutely aware COVID has torn through the lives of millions of people in ways I’ll never imagine and listing off my comparatively menial issues, therefore, didn’t feel appropriate.

I may be on draft six or seven, but here I am, attempting to share how I’ve found some positivity and peace amongst the chaos.

Fear not, I won’t be gloating about my extra moist banana bread or crisp apple crumble (although you will find those on Alex’s blog posts), nor shall I share my Strava personal bests or any more TikTok dance routines (don’t hold me to that last one!). Instead, I felt there was something to be said in sharing the small wins I’ve gained from this pandemic, as opposed to focussing on everything it’s taken away.

This blog post will come to you in two parts, each with its own spotlight and explanation. They’re close to my heart and hopefully one of them may be close to yours too.

“Walking Brings Me Back To Myself” — Laurette Mortimer

Before COVID, I only ever walked if it was towards a destination. I very rarely thought of ‘taking a stroll’ at a weekend and you can bet your life I never considered ‘ walking around the block ‘ before starting work. I kept my head down, headphones in, mind distracted. Citymapper activated. I was forever focussing on where I had to be and how many obstacles I would need to overcome in order to get there.

It usually followed the same pattern — unreliable tubes, overcrowded carriages and late Uber drivers, before heading out on foot for the final leg of the journey. Like everyone around me, I’d aimlessly follow my Google Maps down the streets, resembling some sort of Pokemon Go contestant chasing down a Picachu. We weaved and wondered, pounding the pavement as we forged ahead! In London, you’re always in a rush.

In lockdown, I suddenly had nowhere to go, no one to see and no destination to reach. My home is my office; my office is my home. My living room is also my gym and my kitchen transforms into my Friday night cocktail bar. Our homes have adapted into hybrid, microclimates which now take on the role of all our previous destinations. For all of us, it’s a huge adjustment and an intense environment.

So what do we do to escape? We walk. And with this new found freedom, in a time where everything is so constrained, I’ve finally managed to pick my eyes up from the pavement and take note of what surrounds me. I love trees now, like love them. I sometimes stand and watch the leaves fall in the park next door to me like a bizarre tree-dophile. My senses feel like they’re on steroids — the sky seems brighter, the air tastes fresher, the birds sing louder. I walk down the same lane every morning and somehow find a way to see it differently.

Like many, getting outside on my daily walk allows me to temporarily disconnect and reset, reworking my thoughts whenever I’d had a wobble. I use this time to reminisce on past memories, plan ideas for the future, smile for the good times and sometimes cry about the bad.

A slower pace of life has caused a spring in my step; I’ve been forced to slow down and not forge ahead. Walking has provided me with a constant and a comfort I never thought I needed, as well as a change in perspective I never realised existed. So for that, I’m grateful.

Originally published at http://lookingbothways.co.uk on February 20, 2021.

--

--

Rebecca Jardine
Looking Both Ways

Lil Sis writing for Looking Both Ways. Check out our Instagram for updates! @looking.both.ways