This timelapse of clouds and stars will blow your mind

Despite its flagrant abuse of dubstep

Duncan Geere
Looking Up
1 min readNov 8, 2013

--

Matthew Vandeputte

Wow. This timelapse video created by Matthew Vandeputte is one of the more impressive bits of footage we’ve recently seen. It’s put together from more than 100,000 photos from across the world — from Belgium to Australia, but the best bits are the clouds, sunrises, sunsets and starswirls.

On his Google+ page (who the hell uses that?) Vandeputte wrote:

After over a year of shooting, months of editing and weeks of reviewing and re-editing after input of friends and colleagues I’m extremely proud to release my 2013 Motion Timelapse Showreel. This is the footage that took me all over the world, got me in touch with so many amazing people and is to this day my favorite edit yet. I sincerely hope you enjoy it as much as I loved creating it!

The full list of equipment used to create it runs:

Canon 5D MkIII
Canon 600D/Rebel T3i
Canon 17-40L
Canon 24-105L
Canon 70-200L 2,8 IS II
Tokina 116
Yongnuo intervalometers
Magic Lantern Unified
Macbook Pro Retina
Manfrotto tripods
Seagate, Western Digital and Samsung 1TB mobile harddrives.

If you prefer, you can also view it on Vimeo, and more details of Vandeputte’s past work can be found on his website.

--

--

Duncan Geere
Looking Up

Writer, editor and data journalist. Sound and vision. Carbon neutral. Email me at duncan.geere@gmail.com