Theo Olele: simplicity matters.

Osumo Michael
Loona Blog
Published in
3 min readDec 16, 2020

Theo Olele is founder and chief editor of one of the most popular magazines on the African continent, VL Magazine, a lifestyle magazine. He has channeled this drive into The OL Brand, a streetwear fashion outfit for urban youths. We discussed his motivation for delving into fashion and his plans for the budding brand.

Theo Olele (Founder, The OL Brand)

What led you to launch a fashion outfit?

I’ve always loved fashion. I love to look good, love to look simple. I don’t consider myself a conventional fashion person. These aspects of my person has shaped The OL Brand, which I’m building into a worldwide fashion brand. The brand’s motto is “Simplicity is key”, an indication of our preference for aesthetically pleasing but simple designs. For now, we sell cloth items and will launch a shoe line very soon.

Big things ahead. What does the “OL” stand for?

I carved it from my surname, Olele. The Olele was shortened to The OL to form the brand name.

What platforms have proved successful so far in reaching your audience?

The brand has presence on Instagram, Twitter, and WhatsApp. Having run VL magazine, one of the continent’s biggest names in that niche, I leveraged some of the connections I’ve made to give the fashion brand a boost. The OL has grown via word-of-mouth marketing and we intend to build on that to scale.

The OL Brand Shirt

Where do you get design Inspirations from?

I get design concepts from different places. When a concept comes to mind I hit up my creative designer and we go through the process of converting ideas into products. Because I want my products to be worn by different segments including the urban youth, footballers and other celebrities, I am very intentional about how concepts turn out. My love for simplicity blends with the high taste of my target audience.

What are some of the challenges you’ve faced in the course of running this business?

Challenges tend to change by stages. When policies threaten to affect supply chain, we put measures in place to ensure products get to customer. We source from China, and have been able to meet demands during different phases of the pandemic. Initially, it affected part of the production process, however these were resolved.

What should we expect from The OL Brand in 2021.

Expect more dope contents and the launch of new products.

You can connect with The OL brand on Instagram @TheOLBrand

--

--

Osumo Michael
Loona Blog

♧Behavioural Scientist ♧ Tech Enthusiast ♧ Entrepreneur ♧