Featuring: Amelia Rose Alice Sutton, Inspiring Blogger

Loore
LooreNow
Published in
6 min readJul 6, 2016

Amelia is a student/blogger living in the UK. She has loved the beauty and fashion industry from a young age and began her Youtube channel a few years ago, regularly posting videos on makeup tutorials, hauls, style videos and travel videos. Amelia hopes to inspire and help others with her tips and knowledge, and hopes to continue expanding her community online.

How were you inspired to begin your channel?

Since the age of around 15 I became obsessed with watching Youtube videos, I remember watching channels such as Tess Christine, CarahAmelie and Bethany Mota right in the beginning! I related to what they spoke about and I trusted them in their advice and recommendations, and I used to relay information I learned about beauty and fashion to my friends. It took a few years, but once I had the confidence I just bought a video camera and got started!

Where did you start?

Before I started filming, I bought myself a camera. I’d researched into what I wanted to do and how I needed to do it so I bought the equipment, wrote myself some pointers for my first video and just sat and filmed! My confidence grew as I filmed more, and I think there’s nothing wrong with not using a video if you aren’t happy with it.

“Having a great sense of community is what keeps me going, and I love seeing it grow”

What inspires you and keeps you moving forward?

Although I don’t find the time to post as much as I would like, I love the comments and praise I receive on my videos. If I find a new product to review I’ll buy it and I’ll go straight home and film a review for my followers, if I’m intrigued by a product, the likelihood is that they are too! Having a great sense of community is what keeps me going, and I love seeing it grow.

Why are you passionate about it?

Makeup is something I’ve always loved, and watching videos to learn how to do it myself inspired me to do the same. I’d spend hours watching fashion and beauty videos and then pull it all together into my style and with products that I like. If I find something I feel others would be interested in, I’ll film it and share! It’s a bit like discovering a secret and then sharing it with the world.

What’s your favorite aspect of the beauty, cosmetics and fashion industry?

I admire the way girls embrace it, I follow so many MUA’s and fashion bloggers and they all inspire me to try new things. Changing up my look is something I love to do, and there’s so many incredible girls out there that all share tips with each other and I love that and I love being a part of it.

What makes your brand unique from other beauty, cosmetics and fashion channels?

I think every channel is different! Every girl or guy making videos on beauty and fashion will have their own niche, for example I get a lot of viewers who have oily and spot prone skin because that’s what I have. I try to take things that are specific to me and help other girls out there with the same issues. I used to watch makeup routines and then be disappointed to find out my skin type wasn’t like theirs so the products wouldn’t work! I try to be very open with things like that so my viewers know exactly if it would work for them.

How do you organize/plan out your content?

I keep a notebook on video ideas! I’ll look out for new products, and if I think something will be big then I’ll prioritise that over any other video. For example, my most popular video is a comparison between the Urban Decay naked palettes and some ‘dupes’ that I found, I filmed it as soon as I got them and after a few weeks the video blew up!

What is your goal for your channel? Dreams?

I would love to expand what I put out there a bit, and I have passions for fitness, cooking and travel which I don’t put across yet on my channel, it’s something I need to play with, and see if my followers like it too.

Who are your typical followers?

Typically girls of a similar age to me, varying from around 16–26 I’d say!

How would you describe them?

I love my followers, the biggest thing for me is when they reach out to me personally. I’ve connected with some amazing girls online from all around the world and that’s such an amazing thing to say! They’re always the first to like my videos and leave a comment with new videos they want me to film, they’re more like friends than followers.

Do you have any tips for others trying to break into the beauty, cosmetics and fashion industry?

You really need a passion for it; it comes through in a video if you don’t know what you’re talking about, but if you have a strong interest and vast knowledge then share it! Review videos and outfit of the week or day videos are a good way to start, you just have to find what you love to film and put out there.

What are your favorite beauty products or your go-to skincare regimen?

Face masks are super important to me! I’ll always cleanse my skin and if I need a deeper clean I’ll use my Clarisonic. I have around 6 face masks on the go at the moment and I love to mix it up, depending on what my skin needs. My favourites would be my Glamglow mask which is great for blackheads, my Philosophy facial peel that I use bi-weekly to freshen my skin, Lush’s cupcake and prince of Darkness masks, and my new mask I’ve been trying is an Indian Healing Clay mask off Amazon, my skin is SO soft after using it!

What products are you currently using on a daily basis?

I’m really into skincare at the moment! My new Holy Grail cleanser is the Elemis Pro collagen balm, which dissolves my makeup and smells amazing! Followed by my Estee Lauder Advanced Repair always leaves my skin looking fresh! In terms of makeup though, it’s all about my Estee Lauder Doublewear, MAC skinfinish in soft and gentle, too faced better than sex mascara and MAC’s lip liner in whirl.

What’s your personal style?

Very simple and effortless, I’m a blend of sporty, girly and grunge all in one. I’ll be in a bodycon dress and heels one day into an all black outfit with ripped jeans, leather jacket and a band t-shirt the next.

How does your personal style influence your branding?

A lot of my personal style is quite sporty, mainly because my second home is the gym! Because of this, I like to explore my fitness a bit on my Instagram page and it’s something I’m looking at expanding a bit more, so I’ve got a bit more than beauty and fashion, I love blogs and Youtubers who have the lifestyle aspect.

What’s your favorite brand and why?

Clothing wise I love Zara. They always have such a great mix of basics and new ideas that always inspire me to try something new!

What are your go-to outfit combinations?

If I’m just out and about, I’ll reach for my Nike Roshe runs or my Adidas superstars, a pair of Lululemon leggings and av-neck top, paired with a bomber jacket or leather jacket. Mixed with wavy hair and it’s effortlessly chic! I’m a lover of bodysuits, especially from American Apparel, so I’ll pair one with skinny jeans or a pencil skirt if I’m short of fresh ideas!

Want to learn more about Amelia? Follow her on social media:

YouTube | Instagram | Twitter

--

--

Loore
LooreNow

On a mission to empower you in uncovering your best inner and outer self through inspiring content created by the most influential people online | www.loore.com