Another Dawn

a free verse Sonnet

Lubna Yusuf
Loose Words
Dec 29, 2020

--

Line Art Lubna Yusuf

Eleven months, three days, and two hours later, I touch another being
I had almost forgotten the warmth of another body on my skin,
between plastic layers
The garden roses have now turned a dark shade of burgundy
Just as that year
I can almost smell them now, in short breaths as I recover

I meet you now and then between wrinkles of time
It is strange how memories fade yet remain distinctly focused on some parts,
comforting without demands of love
An invisible companion
Handwritten notes in a postbox bring a goodnight’s sleep
A fragile piece of you to hold on to

And hope of another dawn,
Of us.

--

--

Lubna Yusuf
Loose Words

BOOKS: www.amazon.com/author/lubnayusuf | Author, Lawyer, Filmmaker, Multidisciplinary Artist |Co-author TheAIBook | Instagram @iglubna