Arm’s Length

The embrace that waits

Melinda Smith
Loose Words
2 min readDec 28, 2020

--

Photo by Joseph Gonzalez on Unsplash

Friend,
if these, my arms
were allowed to go outside
to touch another person

I would lead them to you
I would use them to pull you in, and
I would hold you so tightly
that I’d reach the small version of you
the one I didn’t know
the one that has died
but sometimes calls your name
when you’re lost

I know this voice
because I have one, too
she speaks to me from a grave marked with
teenage wishes and violated dreams
not to haunt me
but to remind me I’ve grown strong

Friend,
you say we are but once-planted seeds
but now what have we grown into?

a mighty oak?
a cactus with threatening spines?

no, I’d like to think I am a weeping willow
with leaf green eyes turned toward the sun
hardened bark skin that shields each nascent ring within me
and most of all, long branches that hang open, in wait
to give of myself to those who need

to hold you and tell you we are going to be all right
even if it takes a few times
before either of us feel it

Friend,
I shall wrap you in tendrils and branches
as soon as these arms of mine
are allowed to go outside

Find me at ScienceGeekMel.com and on Twitter

--

--

Melinda Smith
Loose Words

Writer of science, fiction, sci-fi, & poetry | Recovering academic (PhD, Neuroscience) | sciencegeekmel.com | @ScienceGeekMel