Bloom with the Flowers

Victoria Antonelli
Loose Words
Published in
Nov 29, 2021
Photo by Alexey Fedenkov on Unsplash

Every corner of the Earth whispers “slow down”
The leaves, no longer green with naivety
Flicker through the golden years
Before falling back to the beginning

Cold dirt braces their gentle landing
Mixed with elements, sinking deep
Fertilizing, nurturing the only way they can
No second thoughts, no strict agenda

I try to mimic a leaf, but I am
More like a fire in California
Burning brightest in the winter
Culling everything in its path

Even as other humans succumb
To rest and rejuvenation
Enjoying a small death before the New
I push and pull and impose my will

But the more I refuse to surrender
The more my feet sink
Into the cold dirt
Decomposing in water, regardless

Mother Nature can take me or
I can go willingly and trust
After dying like the leaves
I will bloom with the flowers

--

--